Bass guitar

I didn’t know what to talk about today so I thought I would write a post about my bass guitar. The story behind getting mine will be kinda long. I have to add I think since starting this blog a couple of weeks back regular readers have probably discovered by now that I’m really talkative. I am actually like this in person too! 😛

So anyway, since I was 13 or 14 I wanted a bass guitar after of course hearing what it sounds like and adoring the sound and asked my parents if I could have one. They both said no, even when I started music GCSE at school they said and that I could get my old acoustic guitar restrung (was missing one string) and I could use that. I reluctantly agreed but the guitar didn’t get restrung and instead I decided to use the guitars at school.

However I then discovered that I was infact left-handed, which my music teacher decided not to believe and insisted I learnt right-handed, which was horribly painful on my left hand and in the end gave up and insisted on having my guitar restrung as soon as possible. We took it to a music shop and they told us it wasn’t possibly to restring it to be a left-handed guitar and recommended buying a new guitar. My Dad was reluctant at first but gave in and we made our way to a music shop to see what we could get.

This was my chance to get a bass, something I ACTUALLY wanted but to my disappointment they had NO left-handed basses and I had to turn back to having a guitar, this time it being an electric one. We finally found the perfect one, a Dean which looked like a Strat, perfect for a learner! Black with a white pick guard, it was perfect and I was pleased with it.

After taking music GCSE and going to college and university the guitar never got learnt and whenever I had gone to I gave up too easily and placed it back where it stays in my room.

In September 2011 I decided to have a look for some cheap left-handed basses on eBay after saving up £200, £100 of it being my budget for the bass. I found the perfect one! £90 for a bass and an amp AND delivery too. I ordered straight away and waited patiently for it to arrive and the morning it did I couldn’t wait to play it. However the amp didn’t get used for a couple of days due to having to keep the noise down, people in this house hate good music. 😛

My bass is by Benson and is a gorgeous turquoise blue colour with a white pick guard. Doesn’t have a name and I don’t know if it ever will! I always called my electric guitar Dean after the brand of it but I was just a kid.

I haven’t played my bass as much recently as I used to due to being a little busy but I intend to more now and I really need to get around to buying one of those learn how to play bass books. Although this said I haven’t been doing too bad teaching myself songs on it and even writing a tab for one.

Here’s a list of songs I know how to play so far:

  • Blink 182 – I Miss You.
  • Bloodhound Gang – Foxtrot Uniform Charlie Kilo.
  • Bloodhound Gang – The Ballad Of Chasey Lain.
  • Bowling For Soup – Girl All The Bad Guys Want.
  • Bowling For Soup – The Bitch Song.
  • Coldplay – The Scientist.
  • Ellie Goulding – Lights. (Wrote tab myself)
  • Gorillaz – Feel Good Inc.
  • Maximo Park – Books In Boxes.
  • Sex Pistols – God Save The Queen.
  • The Offspring – Want You Bad.
  • White Stripes – Seven Nation Army.

I probably know more but I can’t remember them! I really want to re tune my bass so that I can play some Lostprophets songs too but I’m too scared to incase I mess all my strings up. Also want to really learn Smokers Outside The Hospital Doors by The Editors. I love the bass in that song, it sounds so beautiful!

Anyhoo that’s my post for today, if you can think of any songs I should learn then leave them in a comment below!

Leave a Reply

