Book(s) of the month (June)

Well this is one of the new editions to brokenprophetblog and I hope you like it!

Since starting my job I have been reading more than usual and a lot faster at that. I read in my breaks and I get a lot of reading done in that time. I have loads of books to get through after rifling the charity shops with my best friend so I’ll have lots of updates for you lovelies over the rest of the year.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time is a murder mystery novel like no other. The detective, and narrator, is Christopher Boone. Christopher is fifteen and has Asperger’s Syndrome. He knows a very great deal about maths and very little about human beings. He loves lists, patterns and the truth. He hates the colours yellow and brown and being touched. He has never gone further than the end of the road on his own, but when he finds a neighbour’s dog murdered he sets out on a terrifying journey which will turn his whole world upside down.

This novel has been out since 2003 and around the time of its release my best friend had got herself a copy and was reading it. I remember her telling me how good it was but at the time I wasn’t reading as much as I do now. Then when I was at university studying creative writing my tutors told us about this book and how we should all read it. So finally at the beginning of the month whilst looking through the books in one of my local charity shops I spotted it for 95p and with a £1 in my wallet I decided to buy it and I don’t regret it!

This book is amazing and whether you have a family member/friend with Asperger’s Syndrome (like I do) or not, it is a book you NEED to read. It’s written in a beautiful way and as much as you get frustrated with the narrator and main character, you also begin to understand why he is the way he is about things and also help him solve the mystery of the murder of his neighbours dog, as well as other things.

Whether you chose to buy this new or second-hand like myself, BUY It because this book will make you change the way you look at things everyday, it certainly has with me.

Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella.

Lara has always had an overactive imagination. Now she wonders if she is losing her mind. Normal twenty-something girls just don’t get visited by ghosts! But inexplicably, the spirit of Lara’s great-aunt Sadie – in the form of a bold, demanding Charleston-dancing girl – has appeared to make one last request: Lara must track down a missing necklace Sadie simply can’t rest without.

Lara’s got enough problems of her own. Her start-up company is floundering, her best friend and business partner has run off to Goa, and she’s just been dumped by the love of her life.

But as Lara spends time with Sadie, life becomes more glamorous and their treasure hunt turns into something intriguing and romantic. Could Sadie’s ghost be the answer to Lara’s problems and can two girls from different times end up learning something special from each other?

This book is more recent than the last and was published in 2010. I bought this book after seeing it for ages at one of the charity shops by me and I wanted another Kinsella book to read after finishing the Shopaholic series. For £1.19 I don’t regret it.

I haven’t finished this yet, I’m about 30 pages away from doing so, so this blog post WILL be updated when I have, but so far it’s such an amazing book and just shows how diverse Kinsella’s mind and imagination is.

With my own writing it is often a mix of chick-lit and fantasy which is exactly what this is and I have before written a short story with ghosts involved, but that was a children’s fantasy story.

I can’t write much about this book at the moment as I haven’t finished it, but as I said I will update as soon as I have, which will hopefully be before the end of the week.

These are the only books I’ve got through this month but I bought loads as well, these including Bridget Jones’s Diary and Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason by Helen Fielding, Meet Me At The Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan and The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan. I’ll be reading the Bridget Jones books throughout July for sure.

Until then, see you next month!

Leave a Reply

