Inspiring women

I don’t have many inspiring women in my life, mainly because the majority think stupid things, hate men or are stupid. The main woman I respect in my life in my Mom, the second and third being my Gran’s.

However I can’t just have these two women in my life, however amazing they are I need someone outside my family too. Over the years my Mom has introduced me to women who I now look at and think, “What a wonderful person.” and I thought I’d share some of them with you.

Amy Lee.

This amazing lady has been an inspiration to me since I was 14. I first heard Bring Me To Life on Halloween and fell in love instantly. I went out days later to buy Fallen and it’s been one of my favourite albums since. If I could afford and find all the clothes Amy wears I would do it, but I can’t so occasionally when I see some clothes like hers, I often buy them. My Dr Martens for example. I just love her she’s a gorgeous lady, friendly, has an amazing singing voice and she’s wonderful to her fans too. Was mere seconds to meeting her in Birmingham in November 2011 but she got taken to her coach. Seeing Evanescence again this November so I shall try again! Amy Lee will always be an important woman in my life, she’s helped and guided me to become who I am today.

Joanna Lumley.

I won’t lie, I haven’t looked up to this woman for any points of my life but when I was young my Mom and Dad both told me about her and what a wonderful woman she was and they weren’t wrong. She was and still is as beautiful as she was when she was my age. She’s got a lovely voice, lovely skin and she seems like such a caring and amazing woman. I wish I could be more like that. I especially love her at Patsy in Absolutely Fabulous, which is where I first watched her. Then I saw her dotting about in other things and I couldn’t believe it was the same woman. Patsy is a crude, smoking, alcoholic whilst Joanna Lumley is a well spoken, lovely lady. Keep it up Joanna, you’re so inspiring to myself and other girls out there!

Marianne Faithfull.

Once again thanks to my Mom I have discovered this beautiful, talented woman. Actress, singer, model, she’s done it all and she’s done it well! As well as that I think she is beautiful, especially when she was my age. Her fashion style back in the day was amazing and I would love to recreate it myself for in the future. Another woman I can see me looking up to in future.

Kathy Burke.

I love this woman, she’s gone from strength to strength over the years and everything she has done, whether it be comedy or a serious role she has done it well. She’s made me cry of laughter and cry from sadness and that’s when she’s acting. I love how she doesn’t give a shit and does whatever she wants to, whenever she wants to. That’s what women with dreams do and I’d love to be more like that in future, which I can see happening. You don’t get anywhere if you prevent people from doing so. She’s also a beautiful woman, inside and out.

Last of all my friends and family inspire me the most.

Without my Mom I wouldn’t be here, I wouldn’t be the person I am either. I get my filthy jokes and my arsey manner from her and I don’t give a shit about it. She brought me up the best she could and she’s done a fucking great job. Me and my Mom have our disagreements and arguments but at the end of the day we know we both love one another deep down and we just clash once in a while. I reckon when it comes to me moving out she’ll be calling me or vice versa due to missing one another’s company. I love evenings and days of sitting with her in the living room watching films and TV shows and laughing until we’re crying or coughing and sore. I love my Mom and she knows it.

My best and oldest friend Hannah. You are like a sister to me, you know pretty much everything and you know me well enough to know when something isn’t right and vice versa. We’ve been best friends since we were 4 years old and fuck it if we didn’t speak for a couple of years, we’re making up for lost time now and we have both said it will NEVER happen again. If I ever get married I want you to be my maid of honour, if I ever have children I want you to be their God mother and when we grow old I want you to be the friend I call to see about gossip and watch crappy daytime television with. You are my best friend and you always will be, no matter what.

Last of all my Gran’s. One is still with us and the other passed away when I was 10 years old. I wish I could have known her better as I reckon we’re a lot like one another from what my Dad has told me. I worry about pointless shit and get myself ill and stressed out, she was the same. She was from London, I would have loved to ask her more about the place and what it was like when she was younger. I would have loved to sit with her and talk about all the things we have in common and about what my Dad was like when he was a baby. I have a favourite picture of me and her on my wall by my bed, that I look at least once a day. We were both happy and I’m sad I didn’t get to spend more time with her as a child. Now my other Gran, I’m trying my best to spend as much time with her as possible whilst she is still with us. I painted her nails for her yesterday and I think that’s the closest we’ve bonded since before I became a teenager. Long time eh? She’s a lovely lady, she’s been through a lot and once again I’m quite a bit like her. Like me she doesn’t bother with make up, just some lipstick, nail polish and a spritz of perfume. She enjoys her food like I do and she’s forever asking me about how work is, my dancing, my photography, my writing and potential boyfriends. I love going to see her every once in a while, it means I can have a catch up with her and see how she’s doing. She has a picture of me in my graduation gown from last October and it makes me feel special. I’m the first one to graduate in the family so to have my picture there it’s lovely.

This post has made me cry a tad to write. I love all the women in my life and sadly my Mom and my Gran’s won’t read this, but I doubt they need to. Even Hannah, you all know I love you, really fucking love you.

Now I’m off to go blub a little, enjoy your weekends all. :’)

Leave a Reply

