Music series (albums that define my taste in music)

A while ago I read a post Poppy made on her blog about which albums she adores, so I thought I would make a post myself on something similar. There will be lots of albums mentioned here, from similar genres, to ones nothing like the other. Each album has a meaning behind it and memories too, so I hope you enjoy this post as I know I’m going to enjoy writing it.

Let’s start this series with the albums that define my taste in music. My brother lent me a lot of albums when I was about 14/15 and they’ve pretty much helped shape what sort of music I love and enjoy now.

Queens of the Stone Age – Songs For The Deaf (2002).

QOSTA (for short) are a band I have grown up to enjoy and love and they’re one of my favourites. I cried whilst watching them at Reading a few years ago because I wished so much I could have been there to see them play live. They’re one of the bands I want to see live before I die and I know I will sooner or later. This album is set out like a radio with songs playing and being introduced by various radio DJ’s, whether they’re real or not I don’t know. Well known favourites are on this album from “No One Knows”, “Go With The Flow” and “First It Giveth”. The songs just blend together so well and with Dave Grohl as guest drummer, this album is just perfect.

 

 

Coldplay – A Rush of Blood to the Head (2002).

Since a young age I have always loved Coldplay’s music, “Yellow” being the first song I heard from them and still a favourite today. My brother lent me Parachutes and this album but for some reason I just prefer this one that little more. These are my favourite albums by the band, even though I do enjoy their others. This album has some familiar tracks on it such as “In My Place”, “The Scientist”, “Clocks” and “God Put a Smile upon Your Face”. All the tracks on this album are relaxed and remind me of winter time as it was the time I listened to this album the most and still to to this day, mostly around November and December for some odd reason. I’ll never fall out of love with this album, it’s one of my favourites and something I stick on while writing.

Foo Fighters – In Your Honor (2005).

I’d listened to bits and bobs from Foo Fighters due to my brother but I never liked it as much as other bands so when In Your Honor came out my brother burnt me a copy and insisted I give it a listen and I’m glad I did as it’s one of my favourites by them, even if it isn’t loved by the majority. As well as falling in love with Foo Fighters thanks to this album, I also got to see them tour it with my brother when they came to Birmingham. Hands down one of the best gigs I’ve ever been to and I’d love to see them live again! “Best of You”, “DOA”, “Resolve” and “No Way Back” are well-known tracks off of this album. “Best of You” meaning a lot to me and the music video for “DOA” had me in stitches, but that being said Dave Grohl always does. Love this album so much, as well as other Foo Fighters albums.

 

Eagles of Death Metal – Death by Sexy (2006).

I remember the day I heard about this album. It was swiftly chucked down the stairs at me in my brother’s after asking me the rhetorical question of, “Nat you like Foo’s and QOTSA right?” I said yes of course and gave this and Peace, Love, Death Metal a listen. Both I love equally bit this one I just enjoy that little bit more. I’ve seen them live twice, once as a support act for Foo Fighters (where I met the singer/guitarist Jesse Hughes) and again nearly a year later when they played Academy 2 in Birmingham. It was a small gig and an amazing one at that! I love this album for some of their comic tracks, including “I Want You So Hard (Boy’s Bad News)” where the music video includes Dave Grohl, Josh Homme (who is also in the band as the drummer) and Jack Black. Another song called “Cherry Cola” which just makes me crave for the drink after every listen and finally “The Ballad of Queen Bee and Baby Duck” which is a song about Jesse and Josh, Queen Bee and Baby Duck being their jokey nicknames. Overall great album, give it a listen!

Keane – Under the Iron Sea (2006).

I loved Keane’s first album Hopes and Fears and couldn’t get enough of it, so when my brother told me they had a second album out I was beyond excited, even more excited when he said he’d got a copy of it for me. I gave it a listen during the summer of 2006 and instantly fell in love. The songs are a mixture of relaxing and jumpy and one minute I’ll be sitting calmly listening to the lyrics and backing track, the next minute I’ll have brush in hand pretending to be on stage singing the words. Love this and the first album but haven’t been too keen on the bands sound since, but I will definitely give them another try in future. What harm could it do eh?

There are many other albums that my brother has sent and lent me over the years to listen to, but these are the ones that came out top as I still listen to them and artists like them. I thank my brother for helping me discover what genres of music I know and love today, and as well as rock music he has also got me into club music too but a majority of that I have discovered for myself.

Next time I’ll be talking about what club music I love and enjoy, it’s mostly house and electro. See you then and hope you enjoy this new series!

One thought on “Music series (albums that define my taste in music)

  1. Pingback: Albums I’m listening to this summer! | ThereMightBeCoffee

Leave a Reply

