Music series (albums that I’ll always love)

The second post in this series is about albums I love and always will love, for the fact they mean a lot to me, make me feel better and are just amazing. You may not agree, but I adore them and that’s all that matters!

In a way I could lie and say these aren’t in any order, but they are a little bit.

Lostprophets – Start Something (2004).

This band mean the world to me, really they do! They’re my favourite band and have been since 2006 when I started to listen to them more. I remember buying this album after hearing all of the singles off it and falling in love. When I started college I was going through a lot of changes and was dealing with a lot of rubbish from people in my class too and whenever I walked home I’d listen to this album and it comforted me and made me feel better and safe in the knowledge that things would get better and that I would become a better person. “Goodbye Tonight” is the first song I heard off of this album and I instantly fell in love with it. “Sway” which is the last track on the album means a lot to me, for private reasons. All the songs on this album mean a lot to me and I don’t know where I would be now if it wasn’t for this album, and certainly the band being a part of my life.

Evanescence – Fallen (2003).

My second favourite band, Evanescence and my second favourite album. I was listening to Evanescence a little more than Lostprophets when I was younger, not for any negative reasons, I just hadn’t bought Start Something at that point as it hadn’t been released. I remember the first time I ever heard an Evanescence song. It was Halloween and “Bring Me to Life” came on the radio. I fell in love with it and found out that night that the band were to have an album released. I couldn’t remember the date and had forgotten all about it when in December 2004 I spotted it in Sainsbury’s whilst shopping with my Mom. I nagged and begged her to buy it me for Christmas, but she refused saying, “It’s gothic rubbish, you don’t want that!” so instead I took my Christmas money out of my purse and bought it myself. I listened to it as soon as I got home and I love it to bits to this day. “Imaginary” is my favourite track, followed by “Everybody’s Fool”. The tracks on this album mean a lot to me and Amy Lee is amazing, I love her and I hope to meet her when I see the band live again in November.

Daft Punk – Alive 2007 (2007-2008).

A band I grew up to love and adore has to be Daft Punk. This is their live album from their Alive tour and I have to say it is one of the best live albums I’ve ever heard and own. You can just get into the set so much and listening to the crowd cheer and sing along to the lyrics such as “One More Time” is amazing and it just makes me wish I could have been there to share the experience. There are some amazing songs mixed together by the guys and they flow and work together so well. Some of my favourites from the album include “Television Rules the Nation/Crescendolls”, “Face To Face/Short Circuit”, “One More Time/Aerodynamic”, “The Prime Time of Your Life/The Brainwasher/Rollin’ & Scratchin/Alive” and “Da Funk/Daftendirekt” BUT I love all the songs on this album as they just flow with one another to create an absolutely amazing live masterpiece. I love Daft Punk and I hope the rumours are true about them coming to Glastonbury in 2013.

Flyleaf – Memento Mori (2009).

I only started to listen to Flyleaf in my third year of university (2010/2011) so this album hadn’t been out too long. I love their first album too but the songs on this one just stand out that little more to me and I can’t help but listen to this when I can’t think of what I fancy listening to while I’m travelling from here to there. Flyleaf’s songs are religious, singing about Christianity and while I’m not exactly religious, I am a Christian and their songs have made me think more about my religion. I really can’t get enough of this album, especially listening to the songs “Beautiful Bride”, Chasm”, “The Dark” and “Tiny Heart”. You have to listen to each song carefully to catch the religious meanings behind them, as sometimes you won’t hear it at first, but after two of three listens you’ll get it. The songs have wonderful meanings behind them and an even more wonderful sound to them, ranging from hard to subtle rock. Can’t get enough  of this album and whilst I can’t wait for their third to come out, I also really want to see them live when and if they tour near me anytime soon!

Automatic Loveletter – Recover EP (2007).

I can’t even remember how I discovered Automatic Loveletter, but I’m glad I did as I love them so much! This is the EP that I first downloaded by them to check out their music and even though it only had five tracks, they’re all amazing and have since made it onto albums by the band, True Or Dare being one of the albums that I also love. The song I first heard by these guys was “Hush” which is such a sad, yet wonderful song which has a lot of personal meaning to me. As well as this there are some catchy songs on there, such as “The Answer” and “Parker”. Back in the day a lot of people described this band as the unsigned version of Paramore. I hated this as I think Automatic Loveletter are a hell of a lot better than Paramore. Juliet Simms is a much better singer than Hayley Williams in my opinion. As well as this I hope in the future that they tour the UK, as I would LOVE to see them live and meet Juliet. She’s a wonderful woman and recently came second in The Voice.

The Pretty Reckless – Light Me Up (2010).

Not long after this album came out I had listened to a few tracks from it, being told I’d love the band but I at the time I couldn’t see what all the fuss was about and ended up pushing it aside and never listening again… That is until after I saw The Pretty Reckless supporting Evanescence. They were amazing live and Taylor Momsen really blew me away and days later I listened to the album again, only to become hooked. I love this album so much, its rocky with an edge that I haven’t heard by any other female artist for a while and I’m so glad Amy Lee and the boys tagged them along on their UK tour. Favourite tracks off this album are “Make Me Wanna Die”, “Light Me Up”, “Just Tonight”, “Goin’ Down” and “Nothing Left to Lose”. The tracks blend well together showing a dramatic change of hard rock chick to loved up girl. It’s an amazing album and Taylor Momsen reminds me a little of Debbie Harry from Blondie but in my opinion that little better. Can’t wait for a second album and a UK tour!
That’s it for this chapter of my music series, make sure to keep your eyes peeled this week for the third one! Please give any of the albums mentioned a listen, they’re amazing and if you like rock/club/house then you will LOVE these!

 

Leave a Reply

