Yankee Candle collection: wax tarts

Hello and welcome to the first post out of three about my Yankee Candle collection, it’s fairly varied and thus a little big, which would make one post about them longer than necessary. So here we go, the first post in this mini series is about my wax tarts, which are the second type of Yankee Candle’s I bought.

To explain wax tarts simply to those who aren’t sure what they are, they’re a form of candle that doesn’t have a wick to burn so you place the tart in a wax burner and as the wax melts, the smell of the tart begins to linger in the air. To remove a no longer wanted wax tart all you have to do is leave the wax to cool down (give it an hour to make sure) and then pop the wax burner into the freezer for about 30 minutes and simply take out and with a bit of encouragement prod the cold wax with your finger and it’ll slip out and then you can throw it away or pop it into a food bag to re-use another time.

DSC_0010

I bought this wax burner cheap from a market with some cheap wax tarts, which ended up making me ill due to their scent being far too strong so they got thrown away and I decided to try some Yankee Candle wax tarts instead. I think I paid a Β£1 for this burner and still to this day I still find it rather funny how just after buying this I knocked it on a door whilst opening it, which is where the chip came from on the left hand side. My Mom accidentally dropped it once, which is where the chip on the right came from. Also you can see where I had a wax tart burning in here before I took this picture, it was Vanilla Cupcake.

DSC_0002

From left to right:

Christmas Eve, Macintosh Spice, Red Berry & Cedar, Spiced Orange and Christmas Cookie.

I always get my wax tarts from Clinton Cards as they have pretty decent prices and the latest selection to choose from, I especially go in there at Christmas time as the Christmas scents are by far my favourites.

Here’s a quick summery of the description that comes with wax tarts above.

Christmas Eve:

Traditional holiday scents of a warm hearth, sugared plums, and candied fruits.

Macintosh Spice:

Simply delicious … crisp, slightly tart apple slices sprinkled with freshly ground cinnamon.

Red Berry & Cedar:

Welcome the season with the delicious holiday aroma of tart red currants and warm cedarwood.

Spiced Orange:

This bright, cheery blend of sunny citrus and snappy ginger is the perfect winter warmer.

Christmas Cookie:

Buttery rich, vanilla scented, holiday sugar cookies.

Majority of these wax tarts are autumn, winter and Christmas scents as most of my spring and summer scents are as samples or small jars. They’re lovely for burning late afternoon and evenings whatever season as they’re really relaxing.

Each wax tart burns for up to eight hours, which is great of course as for just over a Β£1 each you can get a couple of hours a day out of these for at least a week.

I don’t use wax tarts and my wax burner as much as I could because I just prefer to use my small jars that little more, this is just a personal preference.

My favourite wax tart is Christmas Cookie, I’ve also owned and used Cherries On Snow, which I loved and intend to buy the small jar of this in future.

I intend to start trying to use wax tarts more in future as there are some rare scents I wish to try.

Great places to buy Yankee Candle wax tarts from:

Clinton Cards

Independent shops (there are loads in Birmingham)

Yankee Doodle

eBay

I hope you all enjoyed my first Yankee Candle post, I’ve been meaning to write these up for ages and whilst I’m not feeling too well, I may as get them done, especially as I was burning some for a while this afternoon.

If you have any questions about Yankee Candles or wish to know more about wax tarts, please feel free to ask me in a comment down below!

For now, see you soon and hope you’re all having a great week so far.

Footer 1

4 thoughts on “Yankee Candle collection: wax tarts

  1. I love your burner – I’m a sucker for black and white stripes! Mine has strawberries on πŸ˜‰

    I don’t tend to like the ‘foodie’ Yankee tart smells as I find them too sickly, but any fruit ones are amazing! My favourites are Sweet Strawberry, Wild Passionfruit, Pink Sands, Mango Peach Salsa, Christmas Rose, Black Cherry, Bahama Breeze, Macintosh, Tutti Frutti… you get the idea πŸ˜› x

    • Aww thank you hun. ^_^ I’d love a burner to go with my small shade and plate but they’re so expensive and my current one does a great job. πŸ™‚

      I tend to differ depend on how strong and such the smell is, like I hate Tutti Frutti, it made me really poorly with the scent. Black Cherry is a bit too strong for me too, which is a shame as I love cherry smells! 😦

      I love lemon and citrus smells, they just cheer me up and make me think of summer days! πŸ˜€

      OH and Sweet Strawberry is my favourite, alongside Christmas Cookie and Red Velvet. πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Lily Flame Wish List | ThereMightBeCoffee

  3. Pingback: My Yankee Candle Collection… So far! | ThereMightBeCoffee

Leave a Reply

