Yankee Candle collection: samplers

I see you’re back for more, welcome to the second post about my Yankee Candle collection. This post is going to be about my samplers, which I love very much so.

They’re the first form of Yankee Candle I bought and for that I’ll keep buying them. The first one I purchased was Tutti Frutti, which is described as,  “Forever young… the happy candy aroma of a cherry, raspberry, strawberry and lemon whirly pop.” However I hated the scent and it gave me a sore throat and a very bad headache, I threw it away straight away after that which is a shame.

However since then I’ve discovered so many more scents from Yankee Candle and have loved them all, apart from Midsummer’s Dream, which had the same effect on me as Tutti Frutti, but a little worse.

A little information on samplers, each burn for up to fifteen hours and unlike wax tarts, they have a wick so much be burnt, which can be done in a small holder. Yankee Candle sell these with lots of pretty designs on for each season, but I just pick up cheap ones in pound shops and supermarkets for £1-£2 each. Once this has finished burning I usually use an old butter knife or old spoon to scoop out of the old and unused wax and throw it into the bin, using hot water to melt the left over wax and giving it a wipe with some hot water and a paper towel. But if you have an alternative method, you can keep using that.

DSC_0011

This is what I burn my samples in, I bought it from Asda for around a £1, might have been less than that! Currently have Sweet Strawberry burning in there, which is by far my favourite scent from Yankee Candle! It’s so sweet and summery and reminds me of a strawberry doll I had when I was five or six years old.

DSC_0001

From left to right:

Red Velvet, Pink Dragon Fruit and Sweet Strawberry.

Once again you can pick up samplers in Clinton Cards, which is where I always pick mine up from as like wax tarts, they have all the  latest scents. I love giving samplers away as presents to family and friends as they’re easy to burn and smell gorgeous! Everyone loves Yankee Candles, eh?

Here’s a quick summery of the description that comes with samplers above.

Red Velvet:

A most decadent creation of creamy frosting atop moist cake and a touch of brown sugar. So very sweet.

Pink Dragon Fruit:

Colourful and intriguing … there’s a lure of adventure in the sweet aroma of this tropical fruit.

Sweet Strawberry:

The essence of perfectly ripe strawberries sprinkled with sugar.

I love how all these scents are to do with food! Pink Dragon Fruit and Sweet Strawberry are very spring and summer scents and are very fresh and fruity. Red Velvet however is definitely an autumn scent and came out in autumn 2012, but even though it hasn’t been out that long, it’s by far one of my favourite scents.

As I mentioned earlier in this post, each sampler burns for up to fifteen hours, which is great as these are just over a £1.

Like my wax tarts, I don’t use my samplers as much as I used to and often buy them these days to see if I’ll enjoy the scent in a small jar version, which often happens, which is where I guess it gets its name from as being a sort of sample.

My favourite out of these samplers is Sweet Strawberry, although I do really love Red Velvet too. I need to buy Sweet Strawberry as a small jar soon, I think I might soon, put me in the mood for spring which should soon be upon us.

Great places to buy Yankee Candle samplers from:

Clinton Cards

Independent shops (there are loads in Birmingham)

Yankee Doodle

eBay

I hope you all enjoyed my second Yankee Candle post, I’ve been burning Sweet Strawberry today and I realised how much I missed the scent.

If you have any questions about Yankee Candles or wish to know more about samplers, please feel free to ask me in a comment down below!

Keep your eyes peeled for the third and last post about my Yankee Candle collection tomorrow, for now take care!

Footer 1

2 thoughts on “Yankee Candle collection: samplers

  1. Pingback: Lily Flame Wish List | ThereMightBeCoffee

  2. Pingback: My Yankee Candle Collection… So far! | ThereMightBeCoffee

Leave a Reply

