November Favourites 2014

Christmas is just around the corner and as I say every favourites post, I can’t believe how fast the year has gone. To think in less than a months time it’ll be a New Year, Christmas will be over and I’ll be older.

November went by really quickly and it actually took me ages to try and think about what my favourites were throughout the month, as it just flashed by!

Eventually I came up with my ten favourites and here they are.

 

  • Yankee Candle’s Simply Home Candle in Lemon Cream.

I’ve owned this candle for quite a while, but since having the house to myself the past two weeks, my boyfriend and I have been burning this loads as we love the smell and look how low down it is now! This was really cheap too from a market nearby where I live, only £6 and this is a medium jar, which usually retails for £9, so I did get it at a bargain. I haven’t seen this for sale in-store anywhere since buying it, which sucks as it smells delicious. It reminds me of lemon cake, most of all like the one you can get from Costa Coffee, which just smells lush! It’s a really strong candle too and when I first used to burn this I used to have to keep my window open as it used to give me a headache. I’ll definitely buy this again in the future, as well as one of the Simply Home candles again as they’re a great price and are actually Yankee Candles, but under a different name. They’re worth just as much as the Yankee Candles themselves. Check these out if you haven’t before.

  • The Body Shop Glazed Apple Shower Gel.

I LOVE the Glazed Apple collection from The Body Shop this Christmas and I’ll really be sad to see this go at the end of the month. I love apple scents and this really does smell of fresh apples, but with a sweet scent too. My friend Mali over on her blog (link) reviewed this not long after it came out in October and described it as smelling like Hubba Bubba apple bubblegum and she’s so right! I love using this shower gel in the mornings before I head to university as I smell of it for a while before I leave the house and the fresh but sweet apple scent really does wake you up. It makes lots of lovely bubbles and a little bit of it goes a long way. My boyfriends been using this loads too and he loves it. I’ve also tried the hand cream from this collection and have literally just ordered the bubble bath too. I’m excited to try it out! I recommend picking up the Glazed Apple products as soon as possible as soon enough Christmas will be over and these will be coming off of the shelves too.

  • Angel by Thierry Mugler EDP.

Sadly a few months back I ran out of my Angel and luckily I have a refillable bottle so it doesn’t cost me much to get my star bottle refilled if I want to. So for less than £30 my Dad was lovely enough to go and get it refilled for me and since then I’ve been using Angel once again. This is one of my favourite perfumes and has been since it came out in the early 90’s. My Mom used to wear this loads when I was a kid and because of it, the scent always reminds me of her. I love wearing this throughout the winter season as it’s such a warming scent and it lasts ages too so if I’m busy I don’t have to worry about topping it up every hour or so. If you’re thinking of getting this someone for Christmas, or even yourself definitely pick up the refill bottle! You save so much money in the long run.

  • Dettol Moisturise Aloe Vera & Milk Protein Hand Wash.

The Dettol hand wash is back on my sink and boy have I missed it! I love the Dettol hand washes, they’re sure to clean your hands from bacteria, smell delicious and leave my hands feeling moisturised and lovely. This was on offer in Asda for just 95p, which I thought was great considering the Dettol hand washes are £1-£2 usually. This smells delicious and I can’t even describe the scent, other than fresh and like milk and honey. I’ll definitely be picking this up again as it’s made my hand lovely and soft, and not many hand washes out there does that to my hands.

  • The Body Shop Hemp Hand Protector.

I still own this hand cream and I have to just say how lovely it is! Since picking this up on my 24th at the start of the year it has done nothing but keep my hands soft. This is definitely one for autumn and winter as it’s a very thick hand cream that is designed for dry to very dry hands, which I suffer from terribly at this time due to my eczema. However, as of yet I haven’t had any problems (touch wood!) and I have a feeling it’s because of using this hand cream everyday. I got this for £5.00, instead of the full price of £11.00 and whilst it is expensive it really is worth the money! I recommend this and have written a review for it in the past (check that out here) and I will tell people to try this over and over again as it really is amazing and a real skin saver!

  • Bath & Body Works Pocketbac Anti-Bacterial Hand Gel in Graham Cracker Marshmallow.

I love Bath & Body Works, but I hate that they aren’t available in this country, GRR! I usually pick up my Pocketbac’s from eBay and that is where I bought this one from. This hand sanitizer smells of yummy chocolate crackers and it really is delicious. As all Pocketbac’s the scent is really strong and lasts ages. I’m usually asked what perfume I’ve put on whenever I use this as it just smells THAT strong, never a bad thing. As well as that it keeps my hands germ free and clean throughout the day. I love using this in class as my lectures are due to start and it really is a treat to use. I always sniff my hands after use too and it really does smell yummy. If you like the sound of this just go and search for it on eBay, I’m sure you’ll find one on there somewhere.

  • Carmex Lip Balm in Strawberry.

I’ve posted about this lip balm various times on my blog and even written about it in the past (which you can check out here) and once again it is rearing it’s strawberry scented head. I love using the original Carmex but as that is seeing it’s last days I have started to use the Strawberry one more. This smells lightly of Strawberries and you can taste it a little when you put it on the lips, but it isn’t anything major. This lip balm is gorgeous and a little bit of it goes a long way. I love using this alone and under lip products. My lips over the years have been dry and chapped throughout the winter season, but since discovering Carmex last summer my lips since have been lovely and soft… I do use other lip balms by the way! I find this one works nice underneath lip glosses but with lipsticks (depending on the formula) it doesn’t work as well if you don’t blot afterwards… But I often do this anyway. I’m going to try the cherry flavour when this has finished, can’t wait!

  • Rimmel Glitter Bomb Top Coat in Bedazzle.

This was one of my more recent beauty purchases and it’s a gorgeous glitter top coat. I know I don’t need anymore make up products, I know this but who can deny something as lovely as this? This top coat is a dupe of OPI’s Polka.com nail lacquer and I’d wanted that nail polish for nearly two years, so the fact that I have bought a great dupe for over half the price isn’t bad. I need to post a review of these in the next few weeks before Christmas and New Year roll around, but this is such a great top coat to wear alone or over a nail polish colour. It has purple, blue and pink glitter running throughout and is really girly! Perfect for New Years parties and I can see me wearing this loads in December.

  • Vaseline Lip Therapy with Aloe Vera.

Okay I want to start this by saying I don’t use this on my lips, I use it on my eyebrows… Yes I know that sounds weird but hear me out. I have HUGE eyebrows and without a gel or Vaseline to keep them looking neat and tidy they would be an unruly mess! I apply a little of this onto my eyebrows and then use an eyebrow/eyelash comb to smooth them down and make them look tidy and straight. I recommend this if you have thick eyebrows like I do, I wouldn’t wish to use a coloured gel on mine as they’re black so they can’t really become any darker than they are already. Plus Vaseline doesn’t cost much either, which makes my wallet happy.

  • Maybelline Color Elixir Lip Lacquer in Raspberry Rhapsody.

I wrote a review (you can check that out here) about these when they first came out and ever since I’ve loved these and have been meaning to order some more for when I go on holiday in the New Year (which I’ll do after Christmas!) as they’re just such lovely shades. This is definitely one of my favourite shades as it’s a gorgeous purpley pink shade and looks beautiful on the lips, leaving a slight stain as well as keeping them moisturised and feeling great. I often opt for these if I’m not in the mood to wear a lipstick as they’re easy to apply and last ages so I don’t feel the need to reapply them often. If you haven’t tried these yet, get from under that rock you’re clearly hiding underneath and give these a go!

So those were my favourite products throughout November! I can’t believe it’s December already. Speaking of which, what do you all think of my new header? Christmassy huh?

What did you like using in November? Let me know in the comments.

Until next time, take care all.

Fox Footer

Leave a Reply

