Christmas Penguin Nail art Tutorial – Guest Post!

Christmas Penguin Nail Art Tutorial
Hi everyone! I’m Mali and I blog over at Maliberry Makeup.  Nat kindly invited me to write a few guest posts for her over the Christmas/Winter period and I’m kicking that off with a quick nail art tutorial!  I adore painting my nails and coming up with fun designs, and today I’ll be talking you through the steps to get fun little penguins on your nails.  I actually got the idea from these from some falsies I saw in Primark, although I tweaked the design slightly and added my own touches.  These are perfect for when you want festive nails!
Christmas Penguin Nail Art Tutorial
You’ll need:
Black nail polish
White nail polish (the more coverage the better)
Gold nail polish (yellow/orange would also work)
Christmas Penguin Nail Art Tutorial
I also used a plastic surface to blob nail polish onto – you can see some polish from a previous gradient manicure on mine!  You’ll also need a dotting tool which you can get quite cheaply on eBay or in places that sell nail supplies.  You don’t strictly need a dotting tool: you can use a toothpick, pinhead stuck in a pencil eraser or even a pencil lead to make dots!
Christmas Penguin Nail Art Tutorial
Firstly, paint your nails black 🙂  Use a quick dry topcoat so you can move on to the next step sooner.  I actually laid down my black base the night before
Christmas Penguin Nail Art Tutorial
Next, take your white polish and paint the belly of the penguin. Start the curve of the polish lower down than you normally would, making sure to leave a ring of black around.  I went a little too high with the white on my pinky finger but it’s okay!  Don’t worry if this isn’t perfect – it will give your penguins character
Christmas Penguin Nail Art Tutorial
Next, blob out your white polish onto the plastic surface.  Use the dotting tool to create little white dots on the line of black above the white belly.  I always do some practice dots before attempting them on my nail!  Again, perfection really isn’t necessary here and your penguins will have their own personality if their eyes are a little wonky 😛
Christmas Penguin Nail Art Tutorial
While you wait for the white dots to dry, go ahead and blob out some gold polish on the plastic surface.  Use the dotting tool to add feet at the base of the white belly.  Add a beak below the eyes – simply drag the dotting tool slightly to create a longer shape
Christmas Penguin Nail Art Tutorial
The white dots should be dry enough to add pupils now!  As you might have guessed, you create these in exactly the same way: blob out black polish and grab your dotting tool!  My dotting tool is double ended and I used the smaller end to create these delicate black dots but using less pressure also gives a smaller dot if you don’t have different sized tools.  I tried to make the penguins’ pupils all look in different directions!
Now, you could absolutely stop here and seal your penguins in with topcoat.  However, I wanted to take it a step further.
Christmas Penguin Nail Art Tutorial
You’ll need nail art lacquers in your choice of colours – I went for these red and green Color Club Nail Art Lacquers which come with an inbuilt striping brush.  You can also use normal polish and a separate striping brush!
Christmas Penguin Nail Art Tutorial
I added a little scarf to the penguin on my ring finger by painting a base of green and then adding red stripes.  Very Christmassy!
Once your nails are completely dry, add a coat of topcoat for shine and to protect your hard work.  A matte topcoat would add a fun dimension too.  This entire manicure probably took me about 10 minutes and is very simple.
I hope you enjoyed this tutorial 🙂 Thanks for having me Nat – be sure to let me know if any of you do try this for yourselves!
You can follow me on :
3 thoughts on “Christmas Penguin Nail art Tutorial – Guest Post!

Leave a Reply

