Lush Kalamazoo Beard & Facial Wash – Review

This week I’m handing over my Lush review over to my boyfriend, who is going to be talking about Kalamazoo Beard and Facial Wash, which of course I can’t review considering I don’t have a beard… 😛 Over to you Dane!

Howdy! As you may know I am a man and with being a man it means I have some facial hair. In my need to express my manliness I have wanted my beard to become long and flowing like a wizard’s, or plaited and magnificent like a legendary viking or dwarf. With every attempt at growing facial hair there is always the horrible itchy stage before it starts to really take shape. I always struggle with that and end up shaving it all off or picking it all out at work. It makes it more difficult that I sport the goatee look and need to keep my beard well-groomed and shaped. I have more of a neck-beard than an actual beard and have to work with what I have but I still want that glorious length.
I desperately searched (ahem, Natalee searched) for something to ease the discomfort and spoke to some heavily bearded friends to get some advice on how to get past it. Most said grin and bear it like a man but I prefer the easier route, like most people. Some suggested beard oils but no specific products were recommended and I had no idea where to look. Natalee suggested I have a look in Lush, I was very skeptical at first due to personal views on the brand, but after she went out of her way to grab me a sample of Kalamazoo Beard and Facial Wash I became intrigued and decided to give it a go.

For the first few days of using it I wasn’t that impressed as I was stingy with the amounts I was using. It smelled pretty good and got rid of the mucky and greasy feeling that you usually get when you wake up in the morning. I just thought it was a bog standard face wash, nothing special and I didn’t see what the hype was about the product. Wanting to know what all the fuss was about I decided to use a big dollop of it and really give my face a good scrub and massage to ensure my face took in all the goodness, as well as my facial hair. After I rinsed it off I noticed a hell of a difference! My bit of chin fluff felt like I was stroking a mass of puppies clinging to my chin and my mustache flowed like kittens had nestled under my nose. You may realise I am slightly exaggerating but it did feel really good! It also left my skin feeling squeaky clean, and soft. Hence why I didn’t just go out and buy a small tub of the stuff, but a big tub of it too!

It has a consistency that you would expect from a tub of thick white goo. If you hold the tub upside down it won’t come dripping out anytime soon. It’s a creamy consistency, which means it won’t lather up when you rub it on the skin. Due to how thick this is, a little does actually go quite a long way as it you massage it in but I personally always feel the need to get a little bit extra just to rub into my beard and mustache. To give it that extra bit of time to work its magic I leave it a minute to soak and then rinse it out.

This smells really fruity, which makes a change when it comes to men’s facial wash. They usually have nice smells, yes but they’re always of mint (which I don’t overly like) or something manly. I like my sweet scents, so this was right up my street. It contains pineapple juice, apricot oil, lime oil, and orange oil, which gives it its light fruity scent.
I find it quite comical that this contains pineapple, as we all know that pineapple contains the enzyme Bromelain which is a digestive aid. That’s why when you eat pineapple your mouth feels funky, you’re essentially eating yourself from the inside out. I suppose that’s why it’s used in this wash as it helps eat away all the muck and grease. As well as the flesh-eating pineapple enzyme you will also find almond, apricot and jojoba oils which helps with keeping my face and beard so soft. Yeah I don’t know so much about that stuff, it clearly seems to be working for me though.
As well as keeping my face and beard soft, this has really helped reduce the amount of ingrown hairs I get on my face. Something that Natalee has noticed (considering she is my groomer). I’ve not as of yet found anything that helped my ingrown hairs until now, and all men out there who grow facial hair will know how much of a pain in the arse ingrown hairs can be.

Now I own the tub I make sure to use enough that I am happy with how my face and facial hair feel afterwards. I do think I am using a little too much however, and have cut down how much I’ve been using. I’m not even halfway through the tub and I’ve owned it a month now! That’s pretty good really, especially considering I bought the smaller of the two sizes you can pick up (the bigger tub is pictured here). I first picked up the 100g tub, which cost me £6.75. This does also come in a bigger tub which I picked up recently and is 240g and costs £12.25. At first I regretted not picking up the bigger tub, but I just wanted to test this out at first. My reason for picking up the big tub was so I could keep it at Natalee’s to use whilst there. My beard can feel uncomfortable if I don’t use this product in the morning, which just goes to show how much of an impact it has had on my face and beard, as well as how much I love it.

I don’t know much about many other products so it’s not fair for me to judge and say it is entirely worth it as there may be a cheaper alternative out there that works better, but there most likely is, there always is. For me though, at this present time I am pleased with Kalamazoo Beard and Facial Wash and until someone shoves a new thing in my face to try I will most likely stick with it and recommend it to others to give it a go. Lush do say that you don’t need a beard to use this product, but that it helps, so I’m pretty sure women could try this out too!

A picture of me in my Totoro onesie after using Kalamazoo

So that was Dane’s review of Kalamazoo Beard and Facial Wash! I’m really happy that he has decided to join my Lush reviews, as it is always great to gain a man’s perspective of beauty products like Lush, especially when it comes to products designed specifically for men. He has loved this product since picking it up and I’m really pleased.
Guys, will you be giving this product a go for your beards? Hey, maybe this could be a great Christmas present for parents, siblings, other halves, etc? Let me know your thoughts on it in the comments below!

Until next time, take care all and have a great weekend.

Fox Footer

Twitter Facebook Icon

Leave a Reply

