Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipstick in Hoe Hoe Hoe – Review

I’ve owned this shade for quite a while now, and I’m surprised that I haven’t reviewed it sooner! I knew from Jeffree Star’s first announcement on Instagram that I would need this gorgeous shade in my life, especially considering it was limited edition too. I am of course talking about one of his limited edition Christmas shades, Hoe Hoe Hoe.

Jeffree Star Cosmetics has been around over a year now and in that time he has brought out an impressive line of liquid lipsticks, and lip scrubs, as well as adding new pieces to the collection such as lipsticks, highlighters, and an eyeshadow palette.

Hoe Hoe Hoe is a dark pinky red shade with pink and purple shimmer running throughout. It’s described as, “This fierce red is gorgeous. Hoe Hoe Hoe, part of Jeffree Star’s Limited Edition Holiday Collection, is deep toned with hints of metallic red and purple throughout.” I love red shades and the fact this was the first (of I’m sure many!) of his liquid lipsticks to feature shimmer, I knew I had to have it!

This was definitely the perfect shade for Christmas, and I wore it loads just after I bought it when I went to Fuerteventura. I wore it in the evenings when going out for drinks, and I got so many compliments on it! It was just great for the time of year, with everyone wearing red and sparkles for Christmas.

I have of course worn it since Christmas, and like many dark shades like this one, it’s perfect for autumn and winter. I will of course rock this throughout the year, and I often wear it to work. I get really good comments on it, especially when the shimmer is showing. People are astonished by it sometimes.

Unlike Masochist Hoe Hoe Hoe doesn’t come in the signature pink box that the majority of the liquid lipsticks come in. It actually comes in the limited edition white box that was created for these limited edition Christmas shades. Again, the tube itself isn’t the usual hot pink and rose gold colours either, but instead of hot pink it’s white, to match the box it comes in. I love the white look myself, and it really helps show off that the product is different from the rest in my small collection.

The applicator is a doe foot and when I first bought Masochist I expected it to be like the usual soft and bog standard ones you get in most lip glosses, however this doe foot is really fluffy! Which means it picks up more product, and therefore leaves more product behind on the lips. The product itself doesn’t have a scent to it, which at first I was pretty bummed about, but now I actually prefer it!

Like Masochist, Hoe Hoe Hoe is super pigmented, which I knew it would be due to how amazing these liquid lipsticks are! I swatched this on the back of my hand and was actually a little surprised at how dark this shade was. I thought it was going to be a lighter red shade due to the Instagram pictures. I did worry for a while that I wouldn’t like it, but when I tried it on I fell in love. Again like all the liquid lipsticks this is really pigmented and therefore a little bit goes a long way. The doe foot applicator worked well to line my lips, but I find a lip liner is better as it means you gain a more precise line and edge. You don’t need a lot of this to achieve a gorgeous finish.

As Hoe Hoe Hoe has shimmer in it (which as you can see I attempted to get a picture of…), a lot of people spoke online of how they get the most from their tube. One technique that I heard the most about was after it has dried you rub your lips with your finger to sort of show off any shimmer, and basically rub away the colour a little. It works and I do this before I leave the house after applying.

Masochist on the left, and Hoe Hoe Hoe on the right.

Masochist on the top, and Hoe Hoe Hoe on the bottom.

I did wonder if the formula of this one would be different from Masochist (you can read my review of that here), and it is a little. I found the formula was a little more watery/liquidy than Masochist, but I actually liked this as it meant I didn’t need to use as much as I find I sometimes have to with Masochist due to it being a little thicker.

Another thing I worried would happen was staining, as Masochist stains. I like that it stains as it means it lasts longer but if you want to remove it at the end of the day it can be a total bitch to remove! Hoe Hoe Hoe doesn’t so this AT ALL which I’m really pleased about. Due to the stain that Masochist leaves behind I did worry that there was something wrong with my tube of Hoe Hoe Hoe, but I’ve heard from a lot of bloggers and people that Masochist stains. So it isn’t just me. 🙂

The first time I wore this out was to go do some Christmas shopping with Dane. I got a lot of compliments on it from people and it made me feel great. I also wore it in my old job at Costa, and all my regular customers complimented me on it, and said how I seemed in the Christmas spirit. Love it!

Like all liquid lipsticks this will get worn away if you are in contact with any food (or possibly drinks) that contain oil. This lasts throughout my shift at work too, only budging on my lunch break when I grab something to eat, which of course is perfect! Re-applying this is really easy as well. You can just apply it to the parts of your lips where needed, or even all over.

I of course used the “kiss” and “finger” test to show off that this product doesn’t come off when in contact with anything, and everyone I have shown it to has been impressed, especially my boyfriend who hates being covered in lip shapes kisses.

I have in the past found these hard to remove and have had to scrub away at my lips to remove the shade, only Masochist to be honest. I apply an oil based remover to a cotton pad and then apply it to the lips and wipe away when I feel the oil has soaked up the lipstick. Even for such a dark shade it comes off really easily, which I really do love.

Now it’s time for some silly faces of my mug wearing Hoe Hoe Hoe! 😛

Overall how do I feel about Hoe Hoe Hoe? I LOVE it! It’s something really unique due to the shimmer alone, and I know if I fancy wearing something really special on a night out, or for a meal, I know to wear this shade hands down. I’ve started to become more comfortable wearing darker shades at work, so I try and pop this on once every couple of weeks to show that it still exists. 😛

Unlike Masochist I paid £14.00 for this baby after Cocktail Cosmetics had to raise their prices. I remember how annoyed people were about it, but come on people. Over a pound? REALLY?!

As this is limited edition you can sadly no longer buy it anymore unless you find someone selling it second hand online. Try places like eBay, blog sales, sales on Reddit, and especially Depop!

I have decided that on every Jeffree Star product I review I will write about three shades I am lusting after. So my current 3 shades I am now lusting after (STILL!!!!!) Abused (This purpled toned navy blue is one of a kind. Matte. Bold. Sultry. We ALL abuse something. Whether it’s power, love, money or beauty… Just don’t let it control you.), Scorpio (This is what happens when grey and purple make love. Jeffree is a Scorpio, so it’s only fitting he made a color in it’s honor!), and Weirdo (The blackest black matte lipstick on earth! This product can also be used as liquid eyeliner (yes, its eye safe!)).

What shades are you after, or what shades do you own? Any you recommend? Make sure to let me know in the comments!

Until next time, take care all and I hope you’re all having a lovely day.

Fox Footer

7 thoughts on “Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipstick in Hoe Hoe Hoe – Review

    • I would 100% recommend Masochist! I have a review of that on here if you want to give it a read.

      Jeffree is bringing True Blood out soon which is kinda similar to Hoe Hoe Hoe so keep your eyes peeled for that. 🙂

      X

  1. Pingback: Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipstick in Unicorn Blood – Review | ThereMightBeCoffee

  2. Pingback: Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipstick in Scorpio – Review | ThereMightBeCoffee

  3. Pingback: Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipstick in Redrum – Review | ThereMightBeCoffee

Leave a Reply

