Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipstick in Unicorn Blood – Review

This was one of the Jeffree Star shades that I was excited about getting when it was first announced, but I never bothered due to worry that it would be way too dark for my skin tone. I doubt I would have bought it to this day to be honest if it hadn’t been for my friend Claire over at All Mouth, No Spoons (link to her blog here) sold me this bad boy at a bargain price of £10. Yes, ten whole pounds! This shade recently came back into stock on the official Jeffree Star Cosmetics website and at the time of writing this review it is still in stock! So I hope it stays that way as its been hard to pick up for quite a while now.

Jeffree Star Cosmetics has been around over a year now and in that time he has brought out an impressive line of liquid lipsticks, and lip scrubs, as well as adding new pieces to the collection such as lipsticks, highlighters, and an eyeshadow palette.

Unicorn Blood is a true red blood shade and is described as, “This dark rusty matte red is now a cult favorite amount the beauty world! Thank you for making this shade such a hit! This color looks perfect on ANY skin tone!” and it really does suit any skin tone! I think it’s more about if you don’t have the confidence to rock this sort of shade then it might not be for you, but more into that in a bit.

I adore dark shades and as I love my red, pink, and purple shades, this is right up my street for the red category! I’ve never owned a shade like this before so this is definitely different and something I was super excited about after I bought it from Claire.

This is definitely a shade for autumn and winter, but this being said I will definitely rock this in the evenings over the summer days for if me and friends go out for drinks, for a meal, etc.

Like Masochist Unicorn Blood also comes in the signature pink box but as I bought this second-hand, I didn’t get this which I didn’t really mind. It is also of course in the same beautiful hot pink and rose gold tube as all the liquid lipsticks come in. The applicator is a doe foot and when I first bought Masochist I expected it to be like the usual soft and bog standard ones you get in most lip glosses, however this doe foot is really fluffy! Which means it picks up more product, and therefore leaves more product behind on the lips. The product itself doesn’t have a scent to it, which at first I was pretty bummed about, but now I actually prefer it!

Like the other two velour liquid lipsticks I own, Unicorn Horn is super pigmented, which I knew it would be due to how amazing these liquid lipsticks are! I swatched this on the back of my hand and laughed awkwardly for a while due to how dark it is, and wondered to myself for a while how I’m going to rock it, and when! Again like all the liquid lipsticks this is really pigmented and therefore a little bit goes a long way. I couldn’t wait to try this on my lips so I ran to my bathroom mirror and applied. The doe foot applicator worked well to line my lips, but I find a lip liner is better (I’ll go into more detail about this in a moment) as it means you gain a more precise line and edge. You don’t need a lot of this to achieve a gorgeous finish.

From L-R: Masochist, Hoe Hoe Hoe, and Unicorn Blood.

From Top to bottom: Masochist, Hoe Hoe Hoe, and Unicorn Blood.

I did wonder if the formula of this one would be different from Masochist (you can read my review of that here), and Hoe Hoe Hoe (you can read my review of that here) and to be honest it is a little, but not in a bad way! I found the formula was more watery/liquidy than the other two liquid lipsticks I own, but I actually liked this as it meant I didn’t need to use as much as I find I sometimes have to with Masochist due to it being a little thicker.

Another thing I worried would happen was staining, as Masochist stains. I like that it stains as it means it lasts longer but if you want to remove it at the end of the day it can be a total bitch to remove! Unicorn Blood doesn’t so this AT ALL which I’m really pleased about.

The first time I wore this out was at the Organique event I attended back in February (you can read about that here) and some of the lovely ladies at the event commented on how great it looked, which I was happy about!

Like all liquid lipsticks this will get worn away if you are in contact with any food (or possibly drinks) that contain oil. This lasts throughout my shift at work too, only budging on my lunch break when I grab something to eat, which of course is perfect! Re-applying this is really easy as well. You can just apply it to the parts of your  lips where needed, or even all over.

I of course used the “kiss” and “finger” test to show off that this product doesn’t come off when in contact with anything, and everyone I have shown it to has been impressed, especially my boyfriend who hates being covered in lip shapes kisses.

I have in the past found these hard to remove and have had to scrub away at my lips to remove the shade, only Masochist to be honest. I apply an oil based remover to a cotton pad and then apply it to the lips and wipe away when I feel the oil has soaked up the lipstick. Even for such a dark shade it comes off really easily, which I really do love.

As I always do, I show off my mug wearing said lip colour… 😛 With a silly picture thrown in for shits and giggles. 😛

Got to add a silly “look at me trying to look all gothic 

 

and grumpy and sterotypical” picture to this post. 😛

Overall how do I feel about Unicorn Blood? I LOVE it! It’s something different and really has encouraged me to wear darker shades and be more daring with my lip colours, which I’m really happy about to be honest. I don’t wear this shade as often as I do my others, but I have worn it for work a few times and had nothing but good comments about it, which in turn makes me happy.

As I mentioned at the start of this post I paid £10.00 for Unicorn Blood second-hand from my friend Claire, and of course postage was free as I popped over to her house to get it. 😛

You can buy this from Jeffree Star Cosmetics for $18.00, or Cocktail Cosmetics for £14.00.

I write on every Jeffree Star review I write three shades I am lusting after. So my current 3 shades I am now lusting after (STILL!!!!!) Abused (This purpled toned navy blue is one of a kind. Matte. Bold. Sultry. We ALL abuse something. Whether it’s power, love, money or beauty… Just don’t let it control you.), Drug Lord (This matte white liquid lipstick is the first of its kind! She’s very versatile. This product can be used as a mixing medium to lighten other liquid lip shades, can be used as liquid eyeliner (YES, it’s eye safe!), lip art, ombré’s or can be worn by itself.), and Androgyny (Be warned: this shade might be your new obsession 😉 Sultry, plum mauve, matte and extremely addicting.)

What shades are you after, or what shades do you own? Any you recommend? Make sure to let me know in the comments!

Until next time all, take care and I hope everyone is having a great week.

Fox Footer

Leave a Reply

