Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipstick in Redrum – Review

If I wasn’t bad enough last week buying Scorpio, I bought Redrum too! But after pining and lusting after it for so long, how could I not finally pick it up?! This is one of the first shades Jeffree Star brought out, and one I wanted from the very start. I won’t lie, I was too anxious to order from the official website at the time of these coming out, otherwise I would have ordered the three part bundle with Redrum, Prom Night, and I’m Royalty. Alas, no time like the present as I finally own Redrum, and boy was I excited to write this review for you all today!

These are fast becoming my favourite beauty brand at the moment, yes they’re even shoving MAC Cosmetics away. They’re just the best liquid lipsticks I have tried, and I want to own them all.

Instead of ordering from Cocktail Cosmetics like I usually do, I bought these from the official Jeffree Star Cosmetics website. My reasons being that I didn’t want to worry I would miss out on Scorpio and Redrum is I waited and went through Cocktail Cosmetics. I’ve already reviewed Scorpio which you can read here.

Redrum is a gorgeous glam red colour, and very vintage looking. It’s described as, “The perfect red: this matte cool toned red looks amazing on any skin tone.” I love wearing the colour red, it’s just a perfect colour that suits anyone!

First thing I want to talk about is how long delivery took from America, and oh boy did it take a while! I ordered the two shades the day that Scorpio came out, and it took three weeks for them to arrive to me! What was more annoying was I had to pay £13.00 import fees as well. That’s the price of one from Cocktail Cosmetics! Which was really annoying… I understand that I think a week was held up due to the Jeffree Star Cosmetics factory getting broken into. My friend Claire and a few other UK bloggers received their purchases nearly a week before I got mine, which really sucked! Me and Claire ordered minutes apart from one another, which is what was the most annoying part. I was devastated as I wanted to try my products on my day off work. So you can only imagine how on the edge of my seat I was to try these bad boys out?! I got them on my weekend off mind, which wasn’t so bad. It just made me incredibly anxious that my items were lost.

Finally they arrived, and were totally worth the wait! The first one I had a play with was Scorpio, chanting “be still my beating heart!” as I tried it on, which was slowly followed by Redrum. For nearly two years I have wanted this gorgeous red in my collection, and now I finally have it!

Like the majority of Jeffree Star Comestics, Redrum comes in the signature pink box and of course is in the same tube as all the liquid lipsticks come in. The applicator is a doe foot and is really fluffy, which means it picks up more product, and therefore leaves more product behind on the lips. I did find however that this doe foot was a bit different than usual and had a distinctive scoop type shape to it. I imagine this is for grabbing more product, and also because the shape of the applicator fits snug onto the lips when applying the product. The product itself doesn’t have a scent to it, which is still a shame. Even though Jeffree Star is bringing some of his newer shades out with scents! WOOP! I like having a light scent to my lip products, but at the same time due to what kind of lip product this is, I’m still pretty pleased this is scentless.

Like the other velour liquid lipsticks I own, Redrum is beautifully pigmented, which by now is no surprise to me, due to the high quality of these liquid lipsticks. This was one of the first shades that Jeffree Star came out with, and I’ve seen it all over Instagram, and on beauty bloggers websites and YouTube channel for ages, so I KNEW I wanted it. I know what I was in store for when I swatched this, a red lipstick, so perfect that Marilyn Monroe herself would have worn this. Like all the liquid lipsticks this is really pigmented and therefore a little bit goes a long way. This isn’t do bad to apply without a lip liner, but I definitely prefer to use one to make sure I get a perfect cupid’s bow!

From L-R: Masochist, Hoe Hoe Hoe, Unicorn Blood, Scorpio, and Redrum.

From Top to bottom: Masochist, Hoe Hoe Hoe, Unicorn Blood, Scorpio, and Redrum.

I did wonder if the formula of this one would be different from Masochist (you can read my review of that here), and Hoe Hoe Hoe (you can read my review of that here) and to be honest it is extremely different! I found the formula was more watery/liquidy than the ones mentioned, but I actually liked this as it meant I didn’t need to use as much as I find I sometimes have to with Masochist due to it being a little thicker. I recently found out that Hoe Hoe Hoe has a thick formula due to the ingredients used to give it that shimmer/glitter affect inside. I also discovered that pretty much all the liquid lipstick shades are like this, so I’m no longer going to be surprised by the consistency of the formula.

Since Masochist was my first Jeffree Star shade and it stains your lips, I also worry that any shade I buy now will do the same thing. Alas though Redrum doesn’t stain, which I was really happy about. I don’t think I’ll be worrying about staining occurring anymore in the future… Yay!

As I mentioned before the first time I wore this was the day after I got it when I had to pop to the shops for a few things. I have since then worn it for work and everyone has complimented it, and said how pretty it looked. I know a couple of the girls I work with love and want Jeffree Star liquid lipsticks, so I’m forever talking to them about the shades. You can’t go wrong with a red shade, especially for work.

Like all liquid lipsticks this will get worn away if you are in contact with any food (or possibly drinks) that contain oil. This lasts throughout my shift at work too, only budging on my lunch break when I grab something to eat, which of course is perfect! Re-applying this is really easy as well. You can just apply it to the parts of your  lips where needed, or even all over.

I of course used the “kiss” and “finger” test to show off that this product doesn’t come off when in contact with anything, and everyone I have shown it to has been impressed, especially my boyfriend who hates being covered in lip shapes kisses.

I have in the past found these hard to remove and have had to scrub away at my lips to remove the shade, only Masochist to be honest. I apply an oil based remover to a cotton pad and then apply it to the lips and wipe away when I feel the oil has soaked up the lipstick. Even for such a dark shade it comes off really easily, which I really do love.

As I always do, I show off my mug wearing said lip colour… By the way I attempted a jokey Marilyn Monroe look. 😛

Overall what do I think about Redrum? It was so worth the wait! I couldn’t wait to get this after wanting it for so long, but I did worry it would look different on me than it does online in pictures, and on other people. There’s not really anything unique about this shade as it is your classic red shade, which you can never go wrong with! I love wearing a red lip, and whilst I do have some staples and favourites in my make up collection, I can see this one becoming a fast favourite to reach for. I’ll wear this all year around, especially over the summer in the evenings for nights out.

This shade sold out surprisingly quickly considering it’s one of the first shades that Jeffree Star brought out. At the time of writing this post (12th May) it is currently sold out, both from the Jeffree Star website, however it is still available on Cocktail Cosmetics website.

When in stock you can buy this from Jeffree Star Cosmetics for $18.00, or Cocktail Cosmetics for £14.00.

I usually write on every Jeffree Star review I write three shades that I am lusting after, however this time I’m going to mention something else I’m after. A Jeffree Star Velour Lip Scrub in Strawberry Gum. “Use our delicious sugar based lip scrub to prep your lips before applying any liquid lipstick. Take a scoop out and rub your mouth in circular motions. Lick away excess (yes, it’s edible!) or wipe off with a tissue.” I got to give this a sniff when I recently visited the Cocktail Cosmetics store and I fell in love. I would have bought one there and then, but I’ll save it for next time. 😛

What shades are you after, or what shades do you own? Any you recommend? Make sure to let me know in the comments!

Until next time, take care all and have a great week!

Fox Footer

2 thoughts on “Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipstick in Redrum – Review

  1. Pingback: May ’16 Favourites | ThereMightBeCoffee

  2. Pingback: 2016 Favourites | There Might Be Coffee

Leave a Reply

