Life Lately… A House Update

 photo Photo 08-06-2016 10 39 36 pm_zpsqzq8ayur.jpg

 photo Photo 09-06-2016 12 37 39 pm_zpsxpyao2fm.jpg

Let’s just say that life has been pretty damn busy of late, and when I say busy, I MEAN busy! Me and Dane have officially owned our home for over a month now, which sounds exciting, but in reality it has been fucking stressful. Anyone who ever thinks that buying a house, doing it up, and everything else that comes with it is straight forward then you’re in for a shock.

 photo Photo 17-06-2016 8 01 58 pm_zpsho7jl9fz.jpg

Buying a house is hard work, and if you aren’t willing to put that effort in, then forget about buying one. Rent because that would be a hundred times easier than buying one. Purely because of all the paperwork that comes with it before you even get the keys. Then after that, (of course depending if you buy a new or pre-owned home) you then need to think about decorating, and any renovation you may need to do, hell even in a new home you may need to do this!

Oh and did I mention money? Make sure you have plenty of it, because so far we have spent thousands on ours, and I don’t just mean the deposit.

Our house wasn’t perfect, it has proven to be a lot of hard work, and stressful. Due to these two elements it has really had an effect on my mental health. My depression hasn’t been all that great some days, and for about a week I started to have symptoms of post natal depression… I know that usually comes during/after pregnancy but that is the only thing I can relate my initial feelings of the house to.

I didn’t feel like I wanted the house anymore, and often pushed it away or didn’t want to do anything to it. It was a sad period, and one I soon came out of and am glad to say I haven’t gone back to.

I hope to do a buying your first home post in the future with a guide of what to expect, what not to expect, etc. You get the point. Buying a house is hard, especially when it’s your first one and you don’t have a clue what the hell is going on. I read some blog posts on what to and what not to expect and they did help a little. A huge piece of advice I read was, “Don’t get too excited about the first house you see, because chances are you won’t get it.” This is so true! I will go into more about that in the future though.

As I said at the start of this post, we have had the keys and been working on our house for over a month now, and are we moved in yet? Erm… Nope… BUT we should be this week! We pretty much have everything done and ready, it’s just a few little things here and there, but mostly the bathroom now, which was one of the last things we decided to focus on.

We didn’t realise how much work we had cut out for us until we were in there. I will be writing a separate post on all that however, as I want to do a before and after style post.

 photo Photo 09-07-2016 4 34 36 pm_zps0ycagqck.jpg

 photo Photo 12-07-2016 1 30 47 pm_zpskxecheuj.jpg

 photo Photo 12-07-2016 1 30 35 pm_zpsv6l5rahw.jpg

As well as the house I haven’t really been doing all that much else… Plenty of shopping for the house to be honest, and working I guess, and I went out with my friend Sophie for a sushi and shopping day. By the way, yes I was sat in a bath in the above picture… With my yellow raincoat on. Buying a house has apparently caused me to act like a bored child on a Sunday morning in Wickes or B&Q.

Other than the house I don’t have much else exciting that has happened… I ordered the Jeffree Star Cosmetics Summer Bundle which was very naughty of me due to how much I paid… That could have gone on house stuff… Meh you only live once I guess! If you want to get your hands on the bundle head over to Beautylish, as they calculate your Royal Mail handling fee, etc into the total. Plus they have two bundles left, so get ordering!

 photo Photo 12-07-2016 9 57 39 pm_zpsexiuvy2k.jpg

 photo Photo 12-07-2016 9 06 12 pm_zpsuhsqw3k2.jpg

 photo Photo 21-07-2016 9 10 01 am_zps5gta0jxs.jpg

I am also swimming in Deadpool goodies!… Well… Kinda. Dane bought me a Deadpool notebook, as well as some Deadpool festival style bracelets, which I love. OH and speaking of the mercenary himself, Good Smile Company also recently showed us what the Deadpool Nendoroid is going to look like. I want him SO MUCH. All the excitement in our house right now.

I want to show off in this post so much right now all the amazing artwork I have bought for the house so far, but I can’t… I just need to wait to give all the tattoo artists who drew said artwork the credit they deserve!

I’m going to end this blog post with an apology for being so quiet lately. I’m sure regular readers of my blog will understand, and for people who have stuck by me, and supported me I thank you from the bottom of my heart. We haven’t finished yet, but we are definitely getting there now.

 photo Photo 03-07-2016 6 51 09 pm_zps5yrprelo.jpg

Take a picture of me with a sea lion! I recently re-discovered that this existed, and it’s caused me to miss my home in Fuerteventura. 😦

How is everyone doing lately? Make sure to let me know in the comments down below! I’d love to have a natter with you! Oh and don’t forget that you can always drop me a tweet if you do so wish! My handle is @maybeecoffee

Until next time, take care all and I hope you had a lovely weekend.

Fox Footer

Leave a Reply

