Jeffree Star Velour Liquid Lipstick Summer Bundle 2016 – Review

Oh my I have been so damn excited to write this post up since I got these babies a week ago, and I am proud to finally write about them. I have all sorts to talk about on this review, including the recent drama with Jeffree Star, as well as where I bought these from. It’s going to be a long review people! I’ll make sure to include swatches alongside my other shades, and of course pictures of me wearing them. LET’S GET TO IT!!!

First of all let’s address the elephant in the room which is the Jeffree and Kat drama that has been happening recently. I like Kat Von D and I also like Jeffree Star, and I know they were best friends so I was gobsmacked when all that stuff happened. I haven’t yet tried Kat Von D’s products but as soon as they land in the UK at the end of the year I know I will be! I know a lot of people have claimed they will no longer buy Jeffree’s goods due to all this palava. So when this shit hit the fan a lot of people asked if I would stop buying Jeffree Star products, and will I? No, I will continue to buy his products. Why? Because his products are fucking amazing, and some of the stupid things he has said or done years before (which I knew about LONG BEFORE it was all posted about on Twitter due to being a “fan” of him for 10 years) don’t reflect to me on his products.

I understand completely why people will stop buying Jeffree Star products from now on and I support people in this, but it won’t stop me buying them, and on that note if you want to sell any Jeffree goodies, come my way! 😉

PHEW! Talk about a heated discussion going on! Finally onto the review!

The first thing I want to talk about is where I ordered these from. I have previously ordered from two different places online. Cocktail Cosmetics and Jeffree Star Cosmetics. Both websites have been great to order from, but I do have issues with them both too…

Unless you’re living under a rock it won’t be surprising news to hear that Cocktail Cosmetics have now stopped stocking Jeffree Star. I was expecting to order my summer bundle from them, so I was saddened when I found out why they weren’t going to stock it. It’s basically because it’ll cost them a lot to ship the products over here to sell, so they would have to charge us a fortune. I think it’s pretty damn thoughtful that they put their customers first and not just think about how much money they could make. That and they probably thought customers may take their custom elsewhere, such as Jeffree Star’s official website, Beautylish, or Morphe. Also it’s nothing to do with the Jeffree and Kat drama like a lot of people assumed either. I didn’t once think it was due to that, but it does suck that this has had to happen. Sad times. Hopefully in the future they will be back with Jeffree Star Cosmetics again! For the meantime they have two shades left, Blow Pony and Prom Queen. I wish I could buy them both but I am skint. 😦

I didn’t order from the official Jeffree Star website because after last time, it cost me a lot… Which wasn’t worth it really. It cost me $10 (it’s not gone up to $10.95) to ship, and it cost me nearly £20 just to get my parcel from customs! So it cost me pretty much the price of one shade to get two, what the fuck? Not just that, the wait that I had to do for the two products at the time was a complete joke. I know this wasn’t the companies fault as they had some issues, but the amount of worry and stress I did during it being shipped to me was a piss take, and one I don’t ever wish to do again. I don’t know anyone from the UK who likes to order from the official website.

So who did I order from? I went for Beautylish in the end because the awesome ladies over at Cocktail Cosmetics recommended it, and I am so glad they did. I’ll tell you why.

First of all if you order over $35 worth of goodies you get your postage to the UK free! How good is that? The official Jeffree Star website only does that if you order over $100! Oh… Hang on… I just double checked this and it’s not $150 and over and you get free postage. Ouch. SO over $35 sounds better to me to be honest!

As well as that Beautylish calculate all the customs charges for you when you place your order and charge you for them there and then, so all you have to do is think about your lovely package coming straight to you. Not getting a silly red card from the Post Office and being told you owe a ton to Royal Mail and need to go down to the depot to pay it and collect your parcel. YAWN! Aint nobody got time for that!

Also it took just over a week for my parcel to arrive, which I was really happy with. It took nearly three weeks for it to arrive from the official Jeffree Star website.

So if you’re gutted about Cocktail Cosmetics no longer stocking Jeffree Star then don’t worry, Beautylish is your saviour! They stock all the Jeffree Star goodies too (even limited editions) as and when they come out, so keep your eyes peeled on the website for details and stock coming back. I know that’s what I’ll be doing from now on and doing mass orders.

Right FINALLY I can get onto the review! I told you this post was going to be long. I guess I just wanted to let fellow Jeffree Star Cosmetics fans know about alternative place(s) to order from, especially if you’re from the UK.

As the title reads I ordered the summer bundle, which means I got all five of the limited edition shades for summer. I am very 50/50 with them at the moment, which I will explain.

First of all I want to say how beautifully presented my package was when I opened it. I was gobsmacked! It already made me think, “Yep I’ll be ordering from these guys again!”

Nothing was damaged in the box, and everything was perfect. The only thing I was sad about was not getting my postcard that Jeffree has put into all his packages from the official website. Gutted!!!

A lot of people were surprised when they discovered that I was going to be buying the bundle, and not just a couple of the shades. Well as I have mentioned before on my blog, as well as to a few people IRL I intend to collect all the shades, and hopefully (and eventually) all the holiday shades/packaging too. That’s a bit obsessive, yes. But sod it! 😛

As I mentioned there are five shades in this collection (from T-B), Queen Bee, Nude Beach, (714), Virginity and Watermelon Soda. All of them smell like watermelon sweets apart from (714), which is an old limited edition shade that Jeffree decided to bring back.

Pretty much the only two shades that appear to suit me are Virginity and Watermelon Soda… Although I have mixed up Queen Bee with a couple of shades I already own to create some beautiful unique shades!

Of course as you can see (and may have known anyway!) the summer shades come in limited edition packaging too which is yellow instead of pink for the main colour, and neon pink instead of rose gold for the writing on the packaging. Very summery indeed!

I have to be honest when I say that I didn’t know how I felt about the majority of the shades when I first bought them. It’s only been the past few days when I have grown more attached to the majority of the shades in the bundle. They are very bright to say the least and I’m used to wearing darker shades. A lot of people have been complaining that these are streaky when applied and need a couple of coats to get them looking opaque. I myself have had this issue and read online that due to the heat in America right now and packages being left out in the sun, we need to pop them in the fridge when we get them for half an hour max, and then cool them down to room temperature. This is the reason for them being streaky apparently… But I doubt this is the case because I did just that and it hasn’t worked 100%. I find the way to get around them being streaky is apply two coats. Apply one coat, wait for it to dry and then apply another. I’ve had to do this with Queen Bee, Nude Beach and (714).

The one thing I did worry about with these was the watermelon sweets scent that it carries. I hate the smell of watermelon so much, so I worried I would hate these because of that. You know what, it isn’t that bad. It’s not strong and in your face, but it is noticeable when you use this and the scent does linger for a while after applying it. It’s not that bad though, as I said.

Onto each shade anyhoo. I’ll review them all individually and show pictures, etc.

Queen Bee

Queen Bee is a yellow shade and one shade that Jeffree has been working on for a long time. This sadly doesn’t have a description on the official website, only because I imagine it’s just a bog standard yellow… I find it’s a more creamy shade of yellow than neon and in your face. I found the formulation for this was somewhat thick and reminded me of Masochist and HoeHoeHoe a little bit. I don’t think I’ll be able to pull this off without mixing it with something or doing an ombre lip. I’ve already mixed it with Mistletoe to create a lime green shade. Also I’m sorry but I couldn’t pull a straight face whilst wearing this shade. 😛

Nude Beach

Nude Beach is a peach nude shade and one I wasn’t expecting to be so light to be honest. Again like Queen Bee this doesn’t have a description for it. It reminds me of when my teacher taught us how to make the colour peach by mixing red and white until we got the shade we wanted.  Unlike Queen Bee this has a more liquidy consistency to it. It is a beautiful colour and one I at first thought didn’t suit me at all! I tried it again the second time when I was taking pictures for this post and BAM I think it looks rather nice, and it sort of suits my yellow toned skin. I’ll probably mix it with another shade soon to get something that will suit my skin tone.

(714)

I was rather excited for this shade as I wanted to get it when it came out in 2015, but sadly I never thought I could pull it off to pick it up. It’s a bright coral shade and when I say bright I mean bright! It is described as, “neon pastel coral shade” which is spot on. It is an incredibly bright shade and one I have tried to wear on a few occasions but just felt silly and took it off… Which isn’t like me at all! Maybe it’s due to me being poorly at the moment… Me saying this again like Nude Beach when I tried this on again to take pictures for this post it didn’t look that bad! Either way this is a shade I’m going to try and mix up with something else. If anything it would go nicely with Nude Beach! I will have to give it a go and let you all know how I get on. Like Nude Beach this has the same consistency of it being liquidy.

Virginity

I didn’t know what to expect from Virginity, which is a lilac shade. I have mixed one of my dark purple liquid lipsticks from another brand with Drug Lord to create my own lilac shade in the past, which I loved. Now I own one in a bottle and I bloody LOVE Virginity! It is described as, “This is our version of a “lavender nude” – think of this shade as I’m Nude’s purple sister!”. This has fast turned into one of my favourites in the set, and when I’ve worn this out I’ve felt so damn confident! I’m glad it suits me because I would be gutted otherwise. Like the previous two shades spoken about, this is also a liquidy consistency.

Watermelon Soda

The final shade I will be talking about is Watermelon Soda, the gorgeous watermelon pink shade that everyone has been lusting after. Who can blame people for doing so either? It’s not only the most wearable shade in the summer collection, but also the prettiest! Sadly there isn’t a description for this shade either but it is a pinky red shade which reminds me of watermelon sweeties, and smells just like them too! I’ve worn this shade a few times now and I love it so much, and have had so many compliments on it. I would love to buy a back up of this so I never run out, but that’s a little bit dramatic. It is a beautiful shade, and by far the nicest one from the collection.

To wrap up my thoughts on the bundle I thought I would do a little mini Q&A!

What is my least favourite shade? I don’t really dislike any of them but I think I’m going to have to say (714) to be honest… When I swatched these on the back of my hand during writing up my review I found it was the most streaky… Which is a bloody shame!

What is my favourite shade? This is a tough one but I think it’s safe to say that it’s Watermelon Soda. I love Virginity too but I was just so damn excited for this colour and it hasn’t let me down. Of course Virginity is a close second.

Would you recommend people to buy the bundle? Definitely if you’re a Velour Liquid Lipstick collector like I am! Also if you’re a make up artist, love to experiment with different colours, or want to gain some more confidence with some crazy shades then this is a pretty good start due to Queen Bee and Virginity! However, if you aren’t that confident and just want the bundle for the sake of it then I would say don’t waste your money…

Do you think it was worth the money? Well I paid about £60-£70 for the bundle as well as my customs, which when you think about it is £12-£17 a lipstick… So it was kind of worth it! I love my Jeffree Star lipsticks and I know these will all get used and worn. If anyone ever thinks, “Is it worth the money?” then you shouldn’t buy it. Never buy anything you have second doubts over!

Would you shop from Beautylish again? Oh hell yeah! Whenever I talk to people about Jeffree Star I’ll be making sure to tell them where to order from. Their customer service is amazing, their shipping and such is beyond reasonable, and I am just so damn happy with my order from them.

So that is my review of the Jeffree Star Summer Bundle! Will you be picking up this bundle? If not the bundle, which shade(s) do you want to get? Make sure to let me know in the comments.

Until next time, take care all and I hope you have a lovely weekend.

Fox Footer

One thought on “Jeffree Star Velour Liquid Lipstick Summer Bundle 2016 – Review

  1. Pingback: Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipstick in Abused – Review | There Might Be Coffee

Leave a Reply

