Build-A-Bear Eevee

At the start of September I made a very big purchase and a somewhat childish one at that. but you know what? I think everyone has been buying this plushie since its release and I’m sure you can tell from the title that it’s Pokemon related.

As soon as Pokeshopper announced that Build-A-Bear would be releasing an Eevee plushie everyone went crazy! It wasn’t meant to come out for ages but due to everyone’s excitement for Eevee Build-A-Bear were good enough to release it sooner, at the start of September.

I was going to order mine as soon as it was released but I took the risk of it still being for sale later that day and sadly it had sold out. I was gutted as were other people like myself. I wanted the limited edition version online (link here), that came with certain pieces you could only get with ordering online.

 photo Photo 10-09-2016 1 16 13 pm_zpsu08c8ylj.jpg

These were also out in some stores across the UK, but I know at the time of writing this post one of my local stores isn’t stocking Eevee yet… I don’t know why. I’m sure it’ll be in stock soon!

So when these finally came back online I made sure to order one! I had to wait a couple of days for it to arrive and it was delivered the day both me and Dane were at work, so I had to wait until my day off the next day to go and pick it up.

It was totally worth the wait! I felt like a little kid at Christmas when I went to pick this up with Dane and happily carried around the box it was inside.

 photo Photo 10-09-2016 1 16 28 pm_zps8fc37is5.jpg

When we finally got home after running some errands I was finally able to open my Eevee and it really is amazing.

Ordering online isn’t the same as going into a store and making it yourself and a part of me was saddened about that, but at the same time I was relieved. I get very anxious in Build-A-Bear as I feel like I shouldn’t be in there. I know that people my age and older buy and make Build-A-Bear’s all the time… But I guess I just feel out of place and don’t get the experience there that I used to get when I was younger.

This isn’t so much of a review by the way, more me just showing you the little cutie I got and the exclusive goodies you get with it. I will warn you though this post is going to be picture heavy!

 photo Photo 10-09-2016 1 17 47 pm_zps0blxjmyu.jpg

You get five things with the exclusive set online, your Eevee plushie, a Pokeball sleeper, an Eevee Pokemon Trading Card exclusive to Build-A-Bear, a sound box with 5 Eevee sounds on it (I think this is only available online…) and the Eeveelutions cape which is only available online in this set.

 photo Photo 10-09-2016 1 17 56 pm_zpsjkvmw3dg.jpg

The set itself wasn’t cheap at £48.50 to be honest but to me it was worth it and has been my September treat.

 photo Photo 06-09-2016 1 25 07 pm_zpsxm44krye.jpg

This has been a really nice edition to the house and is something I find myself snuggling with on the sofa when me and Dane are watching a movie, or when I’m doing blog work and playing games. I know I sound like a huge kid saying that but I’m weird I like to have something to snuggle into. I put this down to the way I hunch over on myself. I guess having the Eevee to snuggle against stops me from hunching as much as I should.

 photo Photo 08-09-2016 7 25 08 pm_zpsmcidoqga.jpg

As well as that Dane had to do a night shift recently and I was on my own for the first time in the house, which frightened me a lot. It was nice to have the Eevee to snuggle against whilst I attempted to sleep. Also after watching an alien themed horror movie lately I ended up having night terrors and even though Dane was there it didn’t help. The Eevee did somewhat however. I should write a post about how I get night terrors from alien horror movies… Maybe someday. 😛

 photo Photo 10-09-2016 1 19 39 pm_zpswsnhh7bz.jpg

 photo Photo 10-09-2016 1 21 12 pm_zpslqjsocit.jpg

 photo Photo 10-09-2016 1 21 17 pm_zpsnmpk1dpo.jpg

 photo Photo 10-09-2016 1 20 06 pm_zpspyqkdgti.jpg

 photo Photo 10-09-2016 1 23 55 pm_zpsyicnnxgi.jpg

 photo Photo 10-09-2016 1 23 47 pm_zpsbzljccaz.jpg

ANYWAY! The outfits for Eevee are very cute and have obviously been thought of quite a bit… Personally I would have thought Build-A-Bear would have played with the idea of all the Eeveelutions becoming onesies that you can dress the Eevee up in. I would have wanted to buy them all to be honest. 😛 The cape doesn’t really make up for it in that sense, but the cape is gorgeous and soft! I won’t be using it for the Eevee much as it seems to nice. My Eevee currently has the sleeper on, which is lovely and soft and looks really nice. I don’t like the hood up on it myself as I think it hides how cute its face is.

The voice box Eevee comes with is amazing, but I am rather disappointed that it has the English voices for Eevee as I kind of wanted the Japanese ones. The Japanese name for Eevee is Eievui by the way! I’ve put a video above of how I kind of expected it to sound. Either way I am really happy with it.

 photo Photo 10-09-2016 1 18 08 pm_zpsl7phdozj.jpg

 photo Photo 10-09-2016 1 18 14 pm_zpseqqdgnlf.jpg

 photo Photo 10-09-2016 1 18 19 pm_zpsiqx7nrxf.jpg

 photo Photo 10-09-2016 1 18 30 pm_zpsiacgo8zl.jpg

 photo Photo 10-09-2016 1 18 43 pm_zps2feeqe0o.jpg

The plushie itself is beautiful and everything that I wanted from it. It’s a soft material with feels relaxing to touch and nice to snuggle up to. With ordering online I didn’t get a choice about how soft or hard I wanted it to be stuffed but they did an amazing job as it feels perfect to me. Of course in store you can have it however you want. The fluff around Eevee’s next is soft and fluffy too. A lot of people are complaining that the tail should have matched the neck. I don’t really mind the way it’s been designed to be honest. I think Build-A-Bear did an amazing job! Due to how soft and relaxing it feels to touch and stroke it I think this will be a great toy for children with anxiety or forms of autism, due to the sensory feel of it. I know it helped with my anxiety whilst I was on my own in the house and during my night terrors.

Before getting my Eevee in the post I was going all over YouTube to see what peoples experiences had been with making theirs, as well as any reviews they may have done. I found one where the girl was offered a scent inside of her Eevee. If I had of known about this I may have gotten something inside of mine. Probably lavender to relax me. It was a shame to find out I wasn’t offered this when ordering online. I think they should be encouraging it really like they do in store, the same goes with the beating heartbeat too as I may have gotten that also.

 photo Photo 10-09-2016 1 18 59 pm_zpsoupmt4zn.jpg

Something I am a bit bleh about with my Eevee is that there is a taught piece of string on one of its hind legs that feels horrible when you touch it. I don’t have a clue what to do with it. I’m hoping to take my Eevee to a Build-A-Bear store with me today to see if I can get it fixed. I could probably do it myself but for what I paid I shouldn’t have to. Also I don’t want to worry that I damage my Eevee, as it wasn’t exactly cheap.

 photo Photo 10-09-2016 1 25 36 pm_zpscrcx2yir.jpg

Other than that I am extremely happy with my Eevee. I haven’t got a name for it yet, so we’ll probably just stick with calling it Eevee to be honest. I know a lot of people have named theirs. I am crap with names, I really am!

If you are a huge Pokemon nerd like I am then this is right up your street and if you haven’t bought one already, THEN WHY NOT?! I have heard and been told that these cost £21 in store, with the Pokeball sleeper costing £10. I don’t know for sure if the voice box is available in store but if it is it’ll cost you £6.50.

These will also make a great addition for children if they love Pokemon, especially Eevee. It’s a cute Pokemon at the end of the day!

One thing I hope that Build-A-Bear do is play with the Pokemon theme for a while. I’d love to see the original three starters for sale and also Mew! I would snap Mew up in a heartbeat to be honest. A part of me wants to buy Pikachu now so I have both of the Pokemon plushies, but I’m not all that fussed. I actually love my Eevee so much and I’m so pleased that I bought it!

What do you think about the Eevee Build-A-Bear? Do you like it? Have you already ordered one online or been into a store to build it? Make sure to let me know in the comments!

Until next time take care all and I hope you all have an awesome weekend.

Fox Footer

Leave a Reply

