Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipstick in Abused – Review

Wow I haven’t written a Jeffree Star review since the summer when the limited edition shades came out. Since then I haven’t really bought many of his liquid lipsticks and not for any reason in particular other than I just want to broaden my liquid lipstick choices.

However I couldn’t pass up the chance to buy Abused before Christmas when Dollhouse became available in the UK to buy from Beauty Bay. I always like to be naughty and buy two lipsticks from Beauty Bay if I intend to buy one. That sounds so naughty if I’m only intending to get one product! 😛

ANYWAY! This liquid lipstick shade was controversial for quite a while due to the name. A lot of people were saying the navy purple shade was to symbolise bruises, which of course victims of domestic violence have. I didn’t really think about it much until people were talking about it as it just never crossed my mind. Even if that is what the lipstick shade is meant to mean I don’t care. Just because I wear this shade doesn’t mean I think abuse is okay, the complete opposite to be honest. I just think this is a gorgeous shade and when it came out it was unique.

This shade came out as part of a trio blue collection which included Abused, Blue Velvet and Jawbreaker. From doing a little bit of digging around blogs and YouTube these shades came out in the summer of 2015… By the look of it anyway! I don’t own any of the other blue shades, just Abused.

All the blue shades by Jeffree Star come in blue boxes, which makes a nice change from the hot pink ones. It’s just a shame he didn’t decided to have the tubes match the boxes as well like he did with the Christmas and summer ones.

So enough about the brand, let’s talk about Abused!

Abused is a unique navy purple shade which I have been longing to have in my collection for a long time! It’s described as “This purpled toned navy blue is one of a kind.” This isn’t the kind of shade people can pass by without commenting on it or taking a second glance.

Unlike the majority of Jeffree Star Comestics, Abused comes in a limited to blue shades blue box but it is in the same tube as all the liquid lipsticks come in. The applicator is a doe foot and is really fluffy, which means it picks up more product, and therefore leaves more product behind on the lips. The shape of the applicator fits snug onto the lips when applying the product. For quite a long time the Jeffree Star liquid lipsticks haven’t contained any scent but more so recently he has started to add scents to certain shades, one being Abused. When I first opened this to swatch and try on I thought I could smell something and for ages I couldn’t work out what the scent was. Even when I showed my friend Claire she wasn’t 100% sure. I looked up on the website though about scents and I pleasantly discovered that Abused has the scent of Rootbeer Float and it smells AMAZING! I don’t find that it’s too strong when applying and wearing the liquid lipstick and apart from the shade the scent is actually one of my favourite things about it.

Like the other velour liquid lipsticks I own, Abused is beautifully pigmented, which by now is no surprise to me, due to the high quality of these liquid lipsticks. Due to how dark this looks on people on social media when swatching it I thought it was going to be much darker, but it’s more on the purple shade rather than blue or black, which is great as it means it’s more wearable. Like all the liquid lipsticks this is really pigmented and therefore a little bit goes a long way. Although I can apply this without a lip liner I prefer to apply it with one due to how dark it is. It especially looks gorgeous with a perfectly defined cupids bow.

Like a majority of Jeffree Star’s liquid lipsticks the formula is watery/liquidy, but I actually liked this as it meant I didn’t need to use as much as you would with other products. However it can feel like you don’t have much control on application of these.

I decided to swatch Abused next to two purple Jeffree Star shades I own. Abused is at the top, Scorpio in the middle (review here) and Virginity at the bottom (review here).

One of the first times I wore this out I was actually rather disappointed with it. Not because of how it wore or anything like that but because with other Jeffree Star shades I’ve never had a problem with transfer, but sadly with this there was blue all over the mug I had been drinking from, which was a major let down! I have since then worn this out again and not discovered any issues so I’m not sure what happened the first time around…

I haven’t yet worn this for work as due to how dark it is I am a little on the paranoid side. I’m sure I’ll gain the confidence to one day however.

Like all liquid lipsticks this will get worn away if you are in contact with any food (or possibly drinks) that contain oil. Re-applying this is really easy as well. You can just apply it to the parts of your lips where needed, or even all over.

I of course used the “kiss” and “finger” test and usually nothing comes off but as I said I’ve found that Abused does tend to transfer, which is a shame.

I have in the past found these hard to remove and have had to scrub away at my lips to remove the shade, only Masochist to be honest. I apply an oil based remover to a cotton pad and then apply it to the lips and wipe away when I feel the oil has soaked up the lipstick. Even for such a dark shade it comes off really easily, which I really do love.

As I always do here is my mug wearing Abused and looking all cool and stuff… Oh and FYI I am wearing fox pajamas in these pictures. 😛

Overall what do I think about Abused? Well I had wanted it for ages and I did worry it wouldn’t be worth over a year of lusting after it… However it was in fact worth the wait although the wear time is pretty shit… I did of course worry it wouldn’t suit me due to how dark it is and it being a navy purple shade. I have come to realise over the past couple of years however that darker shades tend to suit me a hell of a lot more than nudes and lighter shades, which I actually love! I don’t wear any makeup other than lipstick so why not be experimental with it? I just love how different and unique this shade is and I love it so much! It’s one I’ll probably wear during the colder months, as well as evenings out in the summer with a dark outfit!

This only recently made it’s way over the pond and to the UK to be sold on Beauty Bay, which you can find here. Currently the shades sell for £16.00 each and there’s so many shades to choose from! You even have the option to pick up some of the summer and Christmas 2016 limited edition shades!

I usually post which shades I want to pick up in the future but sadly I can’t be bothered with doing this anymore considering I want to try and drift away from buying Jeffree Star as much as I used to. I want to try and start buying more Kat Von D as well as try some Lime Crime liquid lipsticks.

But yes that is my review of Abused! Have you tried this shade, if so what did you think of it? What’s your favourite Jeffree Star liquid lipstick shade? Make sure to let me know in the comments down below!

Until next time take care all and I hope you’re having a lovely weekend.

Footer

 

Leave a Reply

