MAC Rebel lipstick review

After months, maybe even a year of saying I would review this lipstick, I’m FINALLY getting round to reviewing it!

For years I had always wanted a MAC lipstick, especially after buying MAC’s Mineralize Eyeshadow in Sea & Sky, which was my first MAC purchase.

Rebel was my second MAC purchase but my first lipstick and I know it won’t be my last one, as I now proudly own four MAC lipsticks and already have my eye on two more.

DSC_0012

DSC_0013

I remember looking on Temptalia’s blog at all the MAC shades and colours and I couldn’t decide which one I liked the most so I wrote out a massive list to them all and headed up town to the MAC counter in Selfridges.

I must have had about 10 lipstick shades on that list and hardly any of the even existed anymore, but I was determined I was going to be purchasing a lipstick that day and swatched all the ones that were available to try and buy that day. Eventually it was a heads up between Girl About Town and Rebel and as you can tell, Rebel one. I also had one of my friends with me who agreed with the assistant that Rebel really suited me. So I bought it and left it on all afternoon!

I even wore it out in the evening after a sudden decision to go clubbing.

DSC_0014

DSC_0015

MAC describes Rebel as a mid-tonal cream plum  and it’s a satin finish. Of course Rebel is a permanent shade and also comes in a lip glass of the same name. Due to it being a permanent shade it comes in the legendary black and silver bullet.

Okay now I realise how scary Rebel looks when you first try it out, but when it is applied to the skin for a swatch or to the lips it turns out to be a lot lighter than it appears and is as MAC describes, a plum colour. As I mentioned, Rebel is a satin and three out of four of my MAC lipsticks happen to be a satin finish and from this I have discovered that I love the finish that satin gives you. It’s drying without it being matte and thus lasts a long time, especially if blotted. This is where my first experience comes into this review.

I went clubbing with friends, so that involved a lot of drinking, I was single at the time so I was kissing my friends as well as a guy I had been dancing with that night and lots of singing too. I didn’t have to apply Rebel all that much because it was just lasting for ages!

However with Rebel I find it does feather, but that’s nothing a lip liner can’t fix and I’ve seen the perfect MAC lip liner that will go with Rebel, but I need to save up to buy it yet.

I did worry for a while when I first bought this that it would make me look really pale and end up being a wasted lipstick and never be worn. How wrong I was, as this is one of my favourite lipsticks. In all honesty I can imagine all skin tones pulling this off, even the palest or darkest of people.

As well as this looking gorgeous on the lips it smells and tastes really nice too. When I first bought it and was sniffing it reminded me of doughnuts you would get from one of those little stands in town, although many disagree and say it smells more like vanilla. Either way it smells delicious and tastes it too.

I’m so glad my friend encouraged me to buy this lipstick a year ago, I would have regretted it otherwise as I said before, this is one of my favourite lipsticks I’ve ever owned and as soon as it runs out I’ll be going back to MAC to re-purchase this.

It retails for £15.00 from MAC but sometimes Debenhams will have their % off sale on beauty, which often includes MAC and is usually where I try and get my MAC lip products from whenever I want something new.

Edit 1

Picture has a higher saturation than the original to show Rebel’s colour better than the original image did.

I really love Rebel and I only ever wear it during autumn and winter due to how dark it is and I’m so glad September is less than a week away now as I can’t wait to start wearing this again! I’ve really missed wearing it throughout spring and summer. Going to be covering plenty of people’s cheeks in purple kisses!

What do you think of Rebel? Do you own it, if not have you had your eye on it? Please let me know in the comments down below!

Next week I’ll have another MAC lipstick review for you lucky lot! You excited? You better be. 😛

Until next time, take care and have a good week everyone!

Footer 1

12 thoughts on “MAC Rebel lipstick review

  1. I think Rebel would be too dark for me but it looks great on you 🙂 I actually bought it for my old housemate’s birthday as she’s black and really rocks darker lip colours x

    • To be honest it might be too dark for your skin tone and clash with your hair colour, but have some fun when you’re in MAC next and have a go. 😛 I think Lickable would be lovely on you though, review for that is coming up next Thursday. 😉 Rebel really does suit black skin tones. 🙂

  2. Pingback: October Favourites | ThereMightBeCoffee

  3. Pingback: Lip Wish List | ThereMightBeCoffee

  4. Pingback: MAC Speak Louder Lipstick Review | ThereMightBeCoffee

  5. Pingback: The Lipstick Tag | ThereMightBeCoffee

  6. Pingback: Tartan, Hearts & Dr Martens – What I Wore (8th June 2014) | ThereMightBeCoffee

  7. Pingback: Maybelline Color Elixir Lip Lacquers – Swatches & Mini Review | ThereMightBeCoffee

  8. Pingback: Lancome Juicy Shaker Lip Gloss in Berry In Love – Review | ThereMightBeCoffee

  9. Pingback: Infinity Dreams Award – Tag | ThereMightBeCoffee

  10. Pingback: Kat Von D Beauty Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Bauhau5 – Review | There Might Be Coffee

  11. Pingback: Sunshine Blogger Award | There Might Be Coffee

Leave a comment