Aromi Beauty Matte Liquid Lipstick in Miss Mauve – Review

dsc_0005_zps60uu09jv

I don’t feel like I’ve written a lipstick review in FOREVER! That’s probably because it was! What with graduation, holiday, new job, Christmas, New Year, AND my birthday, I don’t feel like I’ve had much time to review anything.

I haven’t really owned this lipstick for long, but I already know how I feel about it, and just had to write a review up about about it today. I cannot wait to share this with you. EEK!

dsc_0014_zpsk75adlt6

Aromi Beauty is an American beauty brand, who are both cruelty free and vegan! I only heard of them through one of the many lipstick related Instagram pages I follow and decided to look further into them. I wandered over to Cocktail Cosmetics website to see if they stocked their liquid lipsticks, and low and behold they did! So I ended up ordering the shade Miss Mauve for myself.

The Aromi liquid lipsticks (like all of them do) go on like a lip gloss and dry to a matte finish.

When I applied this I was worried about it not living up to the same standards as the Jeffree Star velour liquid lipsticks, as they are pretty much the best ones on the market right now. However, whilst this isn’t exactly the same as the velour liquid lipsticks, I found they were better in some ways, which I shall explain.

As usual this arrived super quickly from Cocktail Cosmetics, and I couldn’t wait to wear it for work the next day. I applied this quickly in the morning before I left the house, and then headed over to work. I got nothing but compliments on this shade, both from colleagues at work, as well as customers. I also received compliments via my Instagram page, with people saying what a gorgeous shade this is. I have to agree on that! 😛

dsc_0006_zpsj11qr17a

I’ll start with the look of the lipstick first, and then talk about the product itself. I have a lot to talk about with this one. I’m going to compare Miss Mauve to my Jeffree Star liquid lipsticks, just so if people own those and want something to compare to, you can!

dsc_0011_zpssdlvhztf

The first thing I noticed about the tube is how it’s a lot longer than the Jeffree Star ones, and contains a gram less of product. The Aromi contains 4g, whilst the Jeffree Star contain 5.6g. The prices are also a pound different on the Cocktail Cosmetics website with the Aromi being £13.00, and Jeffree Star being £14.00. As you can see I have taken a picture to show the sizes of the tubes alongside each other.

The Aromi Beauty liquid lipsticks have a sweet vanilla scent to them, which isn’t overpowering, but just the right amount of scent for it to smell delicious. I hate when lip products smell and taste super artificial. It just puts me off using the product. When applied to the lips however, the scent isn’t noticeable to me, and I can’t taste anything either.

dsc_0008_zps0opnzuvv

dsc_0007_zps9ahatqaw

There is one thing I’m unsure of though when it come to the size of the tube, obviously the wand is also long. I’m used to one half the size, but this being said I didn’t have an issue, as it just reminded me of a lip gloss I would have used years before as a teenager. The doe foot applicator is a standard one you find on most products, which I really liked. I felt it made it easier to line my lips and cupids bow before applying the product all over the lips. I usually need to use a lip liner with my liquid lipsticks, but this one I didn’t need that at all.

That leads me to talk about applying the product. I actually found it a little easier than with the Jeffree Star liquid lipsticks, which saved me a bit of time when in a rush in the morning for work. It’s a more watery consistency which I found glided a little better when applying to the lips, and after it had dried it felt a lot more natural on the lips and comfortable, as if it isn’t even on my lips in the first place. Drying time is quoted as one minute, which is accurate.

dsc_0013_zps6x40xxxl

L-R: Jeffree Star – Masochist, Aromi Beauty – Miss Mauve, Jeffree Star – Hoe Hoe Hoe

As I stated at the start of this post, I picked up Miss Mauve, as the name states, a mauve shade. It’s a gorgeous browny purple shade, which can be worn from day to night. I’ve been wearing this for work and it just looks gorgeous, and stands out against the normal nude, pink, and red shades that most people wear. I’ve swatched it alongside Masochist (review here) (on the left) and Hoe Hoe Hoe (on the right), both shades are by Jeffree Star Cosmetics.

For the five hours I wore this, and drank water I never had any issues with it fading from the middle, or outside area of my lips. An issue I have recently discovered with the Jeffree Star liquid lipsticks. It states on the packaging to steer clear from oily foods, so after I ate my lunch at work (chips and a chicken burger, go me and eating well eh?!) I thought I would end up looking like a clown… Alas I was wrong and the lipstick had hardly budged! Again, this is an issue I have had with the Jeffree Star liquid lipsticks. When I wore Masochist the day before I wore this, I looked like I had been eating raspberry jam, and it resulted in a trip to the bathroom to remove it all. What a shame. 😦

I applied a little more of Miss Mauve where needed and headed back down to finish my shift. Four hours later I got home to discover it hadn’t budged still and looked as good as it did when I left the hours nearly nine hours prior to starting my shift.

Like all liquid lipsticks, they can be a pain in the arse to remove. There are meant to stay on all day don’t forget! I use an oil based make up remover to remove my liquid lipsticks, and I found I didn’t need to use much effort to remove these. I do find I have to do that with the Jeffree Star ones. Which isn’t a bad thing! It means they’ll last a long time, but when you want to get them off after a long day, you don’t want to have to scrub so hard on your lips you irritate them, do you?

Time for a couple of snaps of myself now, one of me being silly. 😛

dsc_0016_zpsuciolw8c dsc_0019_zps4okoilbp dsc_0021_zpsoqtfl46k

As you can probably gather, I love Miss Mauve! I might buy more from Aromi Beauty in the future, just because of this liquid lipstick alone. I didn’t find any cons with it at all, they’re all pretty much pros. The price is great, wear time is perfect, has a nice scent which I like, the formula and the way it works for me are bang on, and the shade is just what I was after.

I’m trying to move towards something different from reds, and pinks at the moment this mauve shade is just perfect for me. I can see this being my go to lipstick for work.

What do you think of Aromi Beauty, and Miss Mauve? Will you be giving the brand a go? Let me know the comments!

Until next time, take care all.

Fox Footer

Twitter Facebook Icon

5 thoughts on “Aromi Beauty Matte Liquid Lipstick in Miss Mauve – Review

  1. Pingback: January ’16 Favourites | ThereMightBeCoffee

  2. Pingback: Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipstick in Scorpio – Review | ThereMightBeCoffee

Leave a comment